Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Order | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 930
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Arizona Motorplex

Whitwell drives No. 24az to SWDRA win in Tucson

July 24, 2012, 8:40 am
From series reports

TUCSON, Ariz. (July 21) — Hometown driver R.C. Whitwell outdueled Brad Williams on the first lap and cruised to a Southwest Dirt Racing Association victory at Tucson International Raceway. Whitwell scored his third career series victory in the Mike Tahtinen-owned No. 24az.

Anthony Madrid of Phoenix, Ariz., was second followed by Williams and Chad Ayers of Tucson, who moved up from the modified division. Six-time SWDRA champ Lonnie Parker Jr. of El Mirage was fifth.

Whitwell and Williams battled tightly the first lap with Whitwell edging away on the second circuit. Madrid and Ayers moved up to challenge Williams for second before a lap-five caution for Troy Ruebke’s retirement.

Madrid took second on the restart while Whitwell stretched his lead to more than a straightaway. Jeremy Thornton made some noise before mechanical woes forced him out.

On a lap-15 restart, Ayers tried to pry the third spot from Williams, but couldn’t make the pass as Whitwell continued the rest of the way to the checkers. Whitwell also won the night’s modified feature.

SWDRA @ Tucson: (1) R.C. Whitwell, (2) Anthony Madrid, (3) Brad Williams, (4) Chad Ayers, (5) Lonnie Parker Jr., (6) Bruce Duckett, (7) Alan Bowers, (8) Jerry Fincher, (9) Chris Duchac, (10) Bucky Andrews, (11) James Chavez Jr., (12) Jeremy Thornton, (13) Troy Ruebke, (14) Rick Butler, (15) Paul Banghart.

Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728