Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Order | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 605
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Dog Hollow Speedway

Stile races to first ULMS victory at Dog Hollow

July 23, 2012, 7:04 am
From series and track reports
Sammy Stile (2s) goes by Mike Blose (5) at Dog Hollow Speedway. (Joe Nowak)
Sammy Stile (2s) goes by Mike Blose (5) at Dog Hollow Speedway. (Joe Nowak)

STRONGSTOWN, Pa. (July 22) — Sammy Stile of Charleroi, Pa, led every lap of Sunday’s Connor Bobik Memorial at Dog Hollow Speedway on his way to earning $4,000 for his first-career victory on the Kennedy Motorsports United Late Model Series. | Slideshow

The second-starting Stile beat polesitter Jason Dupont of Cyclone, Pa., to the first corner and held a comfortable lead until lapped traffic came into play late in the race. Dupont and reigning series champion Mike Knight of Ripley, W.Va., both closed in on Stile in the race's final five laps, but the leader picked his way through the traffic to secure the victory.

Knight, who was making his first appearance at Dog Hollow, topped Dupont for second at finish while Boom Briggs of Bear Lake, Pa., and Russ King of Bristolville, Ohio., rounded out the top five in the ULMS tour's first-ever event at the 4/10-mile oval.

Notes: Stile’s Rocket Chassis is powered by a Draime Racing Engine with sponsorship from McGrew Welding, Frontier Steel, American Racer Tires and Ohlins Shocks. … The victory capped off a stellar weekend for Stile, who earned a $2,000 Crate Late Model victory Saturday night in Sharon Speedway’s Sweeney Chevrolet Buick GMC Fastrak Northeast Series event. … The race's 35 entries marked the highest car count this season for the ULMS tour. ... Drivers not making Sunday’s feature lineup: Ken Schaltenbrand, Scott Rhodes, Keith Barbara, Ryan Christoff, Denton Boyer, John Britsky, Billy Eash, Herman Bertolini, Denny Fenton, Gene Kain, Tony Burke. … The next ULMS events is slated for Aug. 1 at McKean County Raceway in East Smethport, Pa.

Connor Bobik Memorial: (1) Sammy Stile, (2) Mike Knight, (3) Jason Dupont, (4) Boom Briggs, (5) Russ King, (6) Jared Miley, (7) Jacob Hawkins, (8) Chad McClellan, (9) John Garvin Jr., (10) Shawn Claar, (11) Devin Friese, (12) Matt Lux, (13) Dan Stone, (14) Ron Delano, (15) Dan Lee, (16) Doug Eck, (17) Billy Dickson, (18) Gregg Satterlee, (19) Dave Blazavich, (20) Jared Hawkins, (21) Jason Witherite, (22) Rob Marhefka, (23) Mike Blose, (24) Dwayne Tanneyhill. Heat race winners (among 35 cars): Delano, McClellan, Briggs, Knight. Consolation winners: Blazavich, Satterlee.

Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728