Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 257
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

I-80 Speedway

Birky, Reddick up front at Silver Dollar Nationals

July 21, 2012, 5:25 am
By James Essex
Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series
The second round of heat winners at I-80. (fasttrackphotos.net)
The second round of heat winners at I-80. (fasttrackphotos.net)

GREENWOOD, Neb. (July 20) — Double-heat winners Brian Birkhofer of Muscatine, Iowa, and Tyler Reddick of Corning, Calif., will start on the front row for Saturday’ second annual Second Annual Silver Dollar Nationals at I-80 Speedway.

The pair were the only two drivers to score a pair of preliminary victories in the two rounds of heat races for the $25,000-to-win event co-sanctioned by the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series and Lucas Oil Midwest LateModel Racing Association. | Slideshow | Notebook | Video

The top 18 drivers in passing points following Friday's preliminaries earned spots in the first nine rows of the 80-lap main event as a big crowd watched 10 heat races at the 4/10-mile oval.

Reddick came from the farthest back to win his heat race, starting eighth and capturing a victory in the opening round heats. Steve Francis of Ashland, Ky., who won his heat after starting in sixth, will start third in Saturday’s main event alongside Billy Moyer of Batesville, Ark.

Last year’s Silver Dollar Nationals winner Don O'Neal of Martinsville, Ind., will start fifth in the MasterSbilt Race Cars house car with veteran Terry Phillips of Springfield, Mo., lined up next to him.

O'Neal, second in Lucas Oil Series points, leads the series with nine victories in 2012 and won the only other Lucas Oil Series event held in Nebraska at Junction Motor Speedway in 2005.

Current Lucas Oil Series points leader Jimmy Owens of Newport, Tenn., will start 16th right in front of current MLRA points leader John Anderson of Omaha, Neb., who fires off 18th on the grid.

In the first round of heat races, Owens, Eric Wells, Francis, Reddick and Birkhofer took checkered flags. In the second round of heats, Moyer, Birkhofer, Reddick, Chris Simpson and O’Neal won.

Saturday’s activities begin at 7 p.m. with a drivers’ meeting followed by hot laps at 7:20 p.m. and consolation races about 8 p.m. The 12-lap Al Belt Custom Homes Builders Bash for the non-qualifiers will proceed the 80-lap Silver Dollar Nationals main event at the Joe Kosiski-promoted facility.

Heat race results

First heat: Jimmy Owens, Scott Bloomquist, Jimmy Mars, Dave Eckrich, Earl Pearson Jr., Mark Dotson, Ryan Gustin, Brian Kenkel.
Second heat: Eric Wells, Terry Phillips, Denny Eckrich, Chris Simpson, Eric Turner, John Anderson, Jonathan Davenport, Rob Moss, Mike Stadel.
Third heat: Steve Francis, Tommy Weder Jr., Kyle Berck, Chris Spieker, Bill Koons, Scott Lewis, Junior Coover, Michael Walker, Alonzo Grosse.
Fourth heat: Tyler Reddick, Don O'Neal, Bill Leighton Jr., John Blankenship, Travis Dickes, Corey Zeitner, Mike Wiarda, Mike Collins, Steve Kempt.
Fifth heat: Brian Birkhofer, Billy Moyer, Will Vaught, Chad Simpson, Jared Landers, Wendell Wallace, Justin Zeitner, Jason O'Brien, Kevin Sather.
First heat: Billy Moyer, Steve Francis, Earl Pearson Jr., Rob Moss, Mike Collins, Will Vaught, Mike Stadel, Michael Walker. Scratched: Ryan Gustin.
Second heat: Brian Birkhofer, Scott Bloomquist, John Anderson, Travis Dickes, Eric Wells, Wendell Wallace, Mike Wiarda, Tommy Weder Jr., Brian Krenkel.
Third heat: Tyler Reddick, John Blankenship, Chris Spieker, Dave Eckrich, Justin Zeitner, Denny Eckrich, Jimmy Owens, Kevin Sather, Alonzo Grosse.
Fourth heat: Chris Simpson, Terry Phillips, Mark Dotson, Jason O'Brien, Kyle Berck, Corey Zeitner, Junior Coover, Steve Kempt, Jared Landers.

Fifth heat: Don O'Neal, Chad Simpson, Tim Isenberg, Jonathan Davenport, Bill Leighton Jr., Jimmy Mars, Eric Turner, Scott Lewis, Bill Koons.

Silver Dollar nationals lineup

Row 1: Brian Birkhofer, Tyler Reddick
Row 2: Steve Francis, Billy Moyer
Row 3: Don O’Neal, Terry Phillips
Row 4: Scott Bloomquist, Chris Simpson
Row 5: John Blankenship, Eric Wells
Row 6: Chad Simpson, Chris Spieker
Row 7: Tim Isenberg, Jimmy Mars
Row 8: Bill Leighton Jr., Jimmy Owens
Row 9: Kyle Berck, John Anderson
Row 10: Consolation transfers
Row 11: Consolation transfers

Row 12: Provisional starters

Consolation race lineups

First consolation
Row 1: Travis Dickes, Earl Pearson Jr.
Row 2: Dave Eckrich, Mark Dotson
Row 3: Justin Zeitner, Corey Zeitner
Row 4: Rob Moss, Mike Collins
Row 5: Mike Wiarda, Jared Landers
Row 6: Mike Walker, Steve Kempt
Row 7: Alonzo Grosse, Kevin Sather
Second consolation
Row 1: Denny Eckrich, Will Vaught
Row 2: Tommy Weder Jr., Jonathan Davenport
Row 3: Wendell Wallace, Jason O'Brien
Row 4: Eric Turner, Bill Koons
Row 5: Junior Coover, Scott Lewis
Row 6: Mike Stadel, Ryan Gustin
Row 7: Brian Kenkel
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information