Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Order | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1010
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Dawson County Raceway

Berck's Lexington victory marks third straight

July 9, 2012, 2:28 pm
By Kelly Ninas
Dawson County Speedway

LEXINGTON, Neb. (July 8) — Kyle Berck of Marquette, Neb., captured his third straight victory on the Nebraska-based Super Late Model Racing Series on Sunday at Dawson County Speedway. He earned $1,000 for his series-leading 34th career victory and fifth of the season.

Reigning SLMRS champion Travis Dickes of Madison, Neb., finished second followed by Mike Marushak of David City, Neb. Polesitter Steve Kempt of Shelton, Neb., and 11th-starting Bill Leighton Jr. of Omaha, Neb., rounded out the top five.

Berck started outside the second row and was already out front after just three laps, taking the point from Kempt. Dickes, who started next to Berck, chased him throughout but settled for the second spot at the 3/8-mile oval.

Notes: Berck’s Swartz Race Car is sponsored by Fontanelle and Strobel Manufacturing. ... Sixteen of 19 starters were running at the finish. ... David Murray Jr. won the modified feature. ... SLMRS competitors take a weekend off before returning to action July 19 at I-80 Speedway in Greenwood, Neb., for a Thursday evening leading into the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series-sanctioned Silver Dollar Nationals.

SLMRS @ Dawson County: (1) Kyle Berck, (2) Travis Dickes, (3) Mike Marushak, (4) Steve Kempt, (5) Bill Leighton Jr., (6) Tad Pospisil, (7) Rick Vanderheiden, (8) Mike Wiarada, (9) Chad Dolan, (10) Corey Zeitner, (11) Mike Collins, (12) Les Seibert, (13) Kevin Hamele, (14) Chris Avery, (15) Kevin Safranek, (16) Denton Duncan, (17) Andrew Kosiski, (18) Justin Zeitner, (19) Bo Egge. Scratched: Lester Duncan. Heat race winners (among 20 cars): Collins, J. Zeitner, Marushak.

Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728