Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1010
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Liberal Fairgrounds Speedway

Phillips caps weekend with Liberal victory

July 9, 2012, 3:53 am
From series reports
Terry Phillips dominated July 8 at Liberal, Kan. (Ron Mitchell)
Terry Phillips dominated July 8 at Liberal, Kan. (Ron Mitchell)

LIBERAL, Kan. (July 8) — Putting an exclamation point on a lucrative weekend, Terry Phillips of Springfield, Mo., led every lap Sunday at Liberal Fairgrounds Speedway for his sixth victory in his last eight Late Model starts.

Phillips earned $3,000 for a race co-sanctioned by the MARS DIRTcar Series and Championship Late Model Association DIRTcar Series. Along with a victory and runner-up finish earlier in the weekend at the Great American Dirt Track in Jetmore, Kan., Phillips earned $16,000 in all. | Slideshow

At Liberal, hosting a race that was moved from drought-stricken Beaver County (Okla.) Speedway, Phillips started on the pole and dominated the 30-lap feature. Fifth-starting Tony Jackson Jr. of Lebanon, Mo., posted his second straight runner-up finish, picking up three spots in the final laps.

Ricky Thornton Jr. of Chandler, Ariz., was third for the second straight night while MARS points leader Jesse Stovall of Galena, Mo., and Steve Johnson of Joplin, Mo., rounded out the top five.

Notes: Phillips drives a Bloomquist Race Car powered by a Roush Yates Ford engine and sponsored by Andy’s Frozen Custard and Don Babb Motorsports. ... The 18 entrants came from 10 states. ... MARS competitors take a break before returning to action July 28 at Springfield (Mo.) Raceway.

MARS-CLMA @ Liberal: (1) Terry Phillips, (2) Tony Jackson Jr., (3) Ricky Thornton Jr., (4) Jesse Stovall, (5) Steve Johnson, (6) Justin Asplin, (7) Clay Daly, (8) Mike Stadel, (9) Scott Lewis, (10) Tommy Weder Jr., (11) Brad Wagoner, (12) Dave Deetz, (13) Leroy Johnson, (14) Garrett Alberson, (15) Kyle Hill, (16) Dylan Schmer, (17) Al Humphrey, (18) Jeff Whyman. Heat race winners (among 18 cars): Thornton, Phillips, Weder.

Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728