Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Order | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1031
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Red Cedar Speedway

Diemel grabs $3,000 victory at Red Cedar

July 1, 2012, 8:18 pm
By Ed Reichert
Red Cedar Speedway
A.J. Diemel led comfortably most of the caution-free feature at Red Cedar. (chrisburback.com)
A.J. Diemel led comfortably most of the caution-free feature at Red Cedar. (chrisburback.com)

MENOMONIE, Wis. (June 29) — Taking the lead on the ninth lap, A.J. Diemel of Navarino, Wis., dominated Friday’s WISSOTA Challenge feature at Red Cedar Speedway. Diemel’s $3,000 victory in the first series visit in eight years was his second in a row on the tour. | Slideshow

Reigning series champ Jake Redetzke of Eau Claire, Wis., finished second with John Kaanta of Elk Mound, Wis., in third. Hometown drivers Scott Gilberts and Mike Prochnow rounded out the top five.

Polesitter Steve Isenberg led the first lap, but Gilbert took command on the second circuit as Diemel stalked the frontrunners. Diemel took a spot from Prochnow, dropped Isenberg to third and then began chasing down Gilberts.

Using the middle of the track, Diemel ran side-by-side with Gilberts for a few laps before swinging past on the ninth lap, quickly pulling away from the field. The seventh-starting Redetzke took up the chase, eventually reaching the second spot on lap 15 and cutting Diemel’s lead to about seven lengths as the leader faced traffic.

Diemel finally worked past the slower cars, extending his lead as Redetzke was stuck with the same challenge. Diemel, racing out of the Mars Race Cars shop in Menomonie, cruised the rest of the way in the caution-free event.

Notes: Diemel’s No. 58 is sponsored by Mars Race Cars, Beltline Body Shop, Amsoil, Deppe Enterprises and Dan Nolan Livestock. ... Diemel is Red Cedar’s eighth Late Model winner of 2012. ... Twenty-four cars were running at the finish. ... All 28 Late Model entrants started the feature. ... Hometown driver Mark Hessler won the modified feature. ... Next Friday’s action at Red Cedar sends the feature winners to the Amsoil Race of Champions during WISSOTA 100 weekend in September at Dakota State Fair Speedway.

WISSOTA Challenge @ Red Cedar: (1) A.J. Diemel, (2) Jake Redetzke, (3) John Kaanta, (4) Scott Gilberts, (5) Mike Prochnow, (6) Rick Hanestad, (7) David McDonald, (8) Nick Beyenof, (9) Lance Matthees, (10) Chad Mahder, (11) David Fieber, (12) Steve Isenberg, (13) Marshall Fegers, (14) Brent Larson, (15) Steve Laursen, (16) Justin Fegers, (17) Justin Ritchie, (18) Kerry Hanson, (19) Robby Bunkelman, (20) Eric Pember, (21) Rick Goth, (22) Justin Ochsner, (23) John Winge, (24) Aaron Holiday, (25) Greg Nippoldt, (26) Kyle Peterlin, (27) Jeff Provinzino, (28) Cory Mahder. Heat race winners (among 28 cars): Redetzke, Diemel, Gilberts.

Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728