Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 257
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Eagle Raceway

Collins flies to first Deery Brothers win at Eagle

April 7, 2008, 8:02 am
From series reports
Mike Collins won his first-ever Deery Brothers race. (Barry Johnson)
Mike Collins won his first-ever Deery Brothers race. (Barry Johnson)

EAGLE, Neb. (April 6) — A first-time winner emerged from night two of the Deery Brothers Summer Series doubleheader during Eagle Raceway’s Icebreaker Challenge weekend. Mike Collins of Council Bluffs, Iowa, led all 35 times around the track to earn $2,000 in Sunday’s feature, outrunning Saturday winner Todd Cooney to the checkered flag. | Sunday slideshow | Saturday race at Eagle

After taking the initial green from outside row one, Collins edged inside pole starter Ben Nading and set sail, sticking to the low groove and bringing Cooney along into lapped traffic. Scattered cautions flew throughout the race, with Collins holding Cooney at bay after each restart. Mike Klinkhammer was third across the finish line, chased by 10th-starting Boone McLaughlin and Darrel DeFrance. Andy Nezworski made the most progress through the field, from 22nd to 10th, after qualifying through his consolation race.

Deery Brothers @ Eagle: (1) Mike Collins, (2) Todd Cooney, (3) Mike Klinkhammer, (4) Boone McLaughlin, (5) Darrel DeFrance, (6) Cory Goldbeck, (7) Charlie McKenna, (8) Corey Zeitner, (9) Stephan Kammerer, (10) Andy Nezworski, (11) Mike Garland, (12) J.D. Auringer, (13) Jason Frankel, (14) Tom Darbyshire, (15) Al Johnson, (16) T.J. Criss, (17) Clint Wendel, (18) Matt Strassheim, (19) Craig Roberts, (20) Luke Pestka, (21) Jason Hahne, (22) Terry Neal, (23) Ben Nading, (24) Jay Johnson. Heat race winners: Neal, Collins, DeFrance, Klinkhammer. Consolation winners: Darbyshire, J. Johnson.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728