Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 930
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Willamette Speedway

Russ Sell captures Willamette's Clair Cup

May 29, 2012, 6:31 am
From track reports
Russ Sell takes the checkers at Willamette Speedway. (raceimages.net)
Russ Sell takes the checkers at Willamette Speedway. (raceimages.net)

LEBANON, Ore. (May 26) — Russ Sell of Brownsville, Ore., led every lap Sunday at the renovated Willamette Speedway for a $2,000 victory in the Memorial Day weekend Clair Cup, a race dedicated to the late long-time track owner and promoter Clair Arnold.

Sell had a few tense moments in lapped traffic at the halfway point, but held on for the $2,000 victory for DIRTcar-sanctioned Late Models. DAA Crate Late Models also ran the weekend action, which drew more than 50 competitors.

Jeremy Shank of Salem, Ore., was the runner-up with 15th-starting Greg Walters of Banks, Ore., in third. Fast qualifier Trevor Glaser of Tangent, Ore., and John Duty of Happy Valley, Ore., rounded out the top five.

Notes: Sell’s Swartz Race Car is sponsored by South Pacific Auto & RV, Left Coast Motorsports and Ohlins Shocks. ... Thirteen of 20 starters completed 50 laps Sunday. ... In Saturday’s semifeature, Rob Mayea overtook Greg Walters in the early laps and raced to a victory. Walters was seocnd followed by Brady Sell, Russ Sell and Tim Goodwin. ... Mayea was in line for a $500 bonus if he’d won Sunday’s feature; he finished 15th. ... Craig Cassell of Albany, Ore., a long-time Dirt Late Model crew chief, led all the way in Sunday’s modified feature for his first victory at Willamette. ... DIRTcar Late Models are part of June 1’s Strawberry Cup at Willamette.

Clair Cup: (1) Russ Sell, (2) Jeremy Shank, (3) Greg Walters, (4) Trevor Glaser, (5) John Duty, (6) Casey Vitale, (7) Terry Ferrando, (8) Jason Wines, (9) Jon Kauffman, (10) Tim Goodwin, (11) Tony Brakeall, (12) Name unavailable, (13) John Campos, (14) Trent Elliott, (15) Rob Mayea, (16) Billy Workman Jr., (17) Joey Tanner, (18) Collin Winebarger, (19) Mike Miller, (20) Rick Wyatt. Fast qualifier (among 48 cars): Glaser, 15.156 seconds. Dash winner: Wyatt. Heat race winners: Britton Donahoo, Steve Moore, Troy Swayngim, Jeremy Shank, Jason Wines. Consolation winners: Mike Miller, Greg Walters.

Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728