Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 923
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Monett Motor Speedway

Jackson grabs second MARS victory at Monett

May 28, 2012, 2:13 pm
From series reports
Tony Jackson Jr. celebrates with supporters after his $3,000 MARS victory. (Ron Mitchell)
Tony Jackson Jr. celebrates with supporters after his $3,000 MARS victory. (Ron Mitchell)

MONETT, Mo. (May 27) — Tony Jackson Jr. of Lebanon, Mo., won Sunday’s MARS DIRTcar Series event at Monnett Speedway, earning $3,000 for his second victory of the season on the DIRTcar-sanctioned regional tour.

Justin Wells of Auroa, Mo., was second at the 3/8-mile oval in the southwest corner of Missouri with series points leader Jesse Stovall of Galena, Mo., finishing third. Will Vaught of Crane, Mo., was fourth with Matt Johnson of Archie, Mo., rounding out the top five. | Slideshow | MARS suspends Looney, Vaught

Vaught and Brad Looney of Republic, Mo., who was scored 15th, were involved in a postrace altercation after a last-lap incident while running among the top five. MARS on Monday handed five-race suspensions and banned them from racing at Monett for the rest of the season, the series announced. The disciplinary action was for "fighting, physical violence and threats of physical violence" according to series rules.

Notes: Jackson's Cornett-powered Rocket Chassis is sponsored by Post Cab, Energy Racing Division, Integra Shocks and Racindirt.com. ... Jackson’s previous MARS victory came March 2 in the tour’s season opener at Clarksville (Tenn.) Speedway’s Tuckassee Toilet Bowl Classic. ... Drivers failing to make the feature lineup: Scott Lewis, Pat Cox, Jacob Magee, Coleman Younger, Larry Bratti, Willie Gammill. ... The MARS tour returns to action with an tripleheader weekend May 31 through June 2 at Highland (Ill.) Speedway, Paducah (Ky.) International Raceway and Federated Raceway at I-55 in Pevely, Mo.

MARS @ Monett: (1) Tony Jackson Jr., (2) Justin Wells, (3) Jesse Stovall, (4) Will Vaught, (5) Matt Johnson, (6) David Turner, (7) Brandon McCormick, (8) Shane Essary, (9) R.C. Whitwell, (10) Justin Asplin, (11) Ken Essary, (12) Larry Jones, (13) Brandon Morton, (14) Leroy Johnson, (15) Brad Looney, (16) Jake Davis, (17) Chris Morelock, (18) Don Cloyd, (19) Jason Redman, (20) Dallas Sales, (21) Joseph Gorby, (22) Cole Wells, (23) Dustin Mooneyham. Heat race winners (among 28 cars): Wells, M. Johnson, Vaught, Jackson. Consolation winner: K. Essary. Provisional starters: Cloyd, Asplin, Sales.

Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728