Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Order | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1069
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Portsmouth Raceway Park

Sweeping Boggs claims Portsmouth's Gator 50

May 28, 2012, 11:10 am
From track reports
Jackie Boggs heads for his second straight victory at Portsmouth. (sraracingphotos.com)
Jackie Boggs heads for his second straight victory at Portsmouth. (sraracingphotos.com)

PORTSMOUTH, Ohio (May 27) — Jackie Boggs of Grayson, Ky., outdueled fast qualifier Josh McGuire in Sunday night’s inaugural Gator 50 and earned $5,000 for his second victory of the weekend and third straight at at Portsmouth Raceway Park. | Slideshow

Boggs, who earned also earned $3,000 for winning Saturday night’s Stars and Stripes 35 at Portsmouth, earned a guaranteed starting spot in the the $50,000-to-win Dirt Track World Championship scheduled for Oct. 19-20 at Portsmouth for his victory on Sunday.

In completing a sweep of the 3/8-mile oval’s Memorial Day weekend doubleheader, Boggs topped McGuire, also of Grayson, and third-place finisher Eddie Carrier Jr. of Salt Rock, W.Va., in Sunday’s unsanctioned feature.

Ben Adkins of West Portsmouth, Ohio, was fourth with Jason Montgomery of Jackson, Ohio, fifth in the event that was held in memory of former Portsmouth track owner Boone Coleman.

The event was marred by modified driver Dave McWilliams' scary flipping accident. McWilliams was airlifted from the track to a nearby hospital for evaluation.

McGuire was the only driver to break the 15-second mark during Sunday’s time trials.

Boone Coleman Gator 50: (1) Jackie Boggs, (2) Josh McGuire, (3) Eddie Carrier Jr., (4) Ben Adkins, (5) Jason Montgomery, (6) Rod Conley, (7) Kenneth Howell, (8) Nick Bocook, (9) Billy Gullion, (10) Kirk Phillips, (11) Shawn Holliday, (12) R.J. Conley, (13) Doug Drown, (14) Lee Logan, (15) Greggie Oliver, (16) J.T. Conley, (17) Josh Bocook, (18) Daniel Kattine, (19) Delmas Conley, (20) Mark Frazier, (21) Shannon Thornsberry, (22) Paul Davis, (23) James Butcher. Fast qualifier: McGuire, 14.928. Consolation race winners: Carrier, Conley.

Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728