Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1119
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

I-80 Speedway

Anderson spells victory at Alphabet Soup Classic

May 28, 2012, 7:14 am
From series and correspondent reports
John Anderson tunes up before his Alphabet Soup Classic victory. (fasttrackphotos.net)
John Anderson tunes up before his Alphabet Soup Classic victory. (fasttrackphotos.net)

GREENWOOD, Neb. (May 27) — Polesitter John Anderson of Omaha, Neb., overtook fellow front-row starter Chad Simpson of Mount Vernon, Iowa, just past the halfway point at I-80 Speedway and raced to victory in Sunday's Alphabet Soup Classic.

Anderson earned $5,000 for the victory in the race co-sanctioned by the Lucas Oil Midwest LateModel Racing Association and Dart Corn Belt Clash. | Slideshow | Video

“Me and Chad had a good race there. I was just kind of biding my time there at the start of the race, waiting until we could make some moves. It’s a lot easier when you’re in second there to move around and hopefully find the line to get by.”

Anderson took the checkers ahead of Kyle Berck of Marquette, Neb., while Simpson ended up third. Denny Eckrich of Tiffin, Iowa, came from his 13th starting spot to fourth and 15th-starting Jason Rauen of Farley, Iowa, rounded out the top five finishers.

“Late there, I’d seen the (Berck’s No. 14) on the board, and I know he’s really good on the bottom here all his life. I just had to cut good, consistent laps,” Anderson added. “I knew it was a good race and I just had to hit my marks.”

Anderson notched his third MLRA victory of the season in taking the points lead, and the second Corn Belt Clash victory of his career.

Simpson jumped into the lead from outside the front row and led comfortably early while Anderson joined him in pulling away from the pack. Anderson was within striking distance at halfway, and when he made his winning move, he slipped inside Anderson down the backstretch.

Simpson valiantly tried to fight back on the next lap, staying side-by-side with Anderson entering turn one. But amid that battle, Simpson came together with the lapped car of Brian Kenkel, allowing Anderson to complete the pass and head for victory.

Notes: Anderson’s Greg Junghans-owned MasterSbilt Race Car is powered by a Jay Dickens Racing Engine and sponsored by Shop Quik Convenience Stores, Turbo Car Wash, Allstar Performance and the FAITH Youth Team. ... Jason Rauen earned KRC Hard Charger honors for his 15th-to-fifth run. ... Runner-up Kyle Berck, fine-tuning his self-built KBMR Chassis, was making just his sixth start of the season. ... MLRA drivers head to Humboldt (Kan.) Speedway and LA Raceway in LaMonte, Mo., next weekend, while Corn Belt Clash racers have a June 1 event at Mississippi Thunder Speedway in Fountain City, Wis.

Alphabet Soup Classic: (1) John Anderson, (2) Kyle Berck, (3) Chad Simpson, (4) Denny Eckrich, (5) Jason Rauen, (6) Travis Dickes, (7) Chris Simpson, (8) Tim Isenberg, (9) Justin Zeitner, (10) Bill Leighton Jr., (11) Dave Eckrich, (12) Rob Moss, (13) Mark Dotson, (14) Bill Koons, (15) Kevin Sather, (16) Alonzo Grosse, (17) Corey Zeitner, (18) Brian Kenkel, (19) Chris Spieker, (20) Justin Kay, (21) Mike Wiarda, (22) Andrew Kosiski, (23) Mike Collins, (24) Andrew McKay. Heat race winners (among 28 cars): Anderson, Berck, J. Zeitner. Consolation winner: Kenkel.

Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728