Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1119
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Oakshade Raceway

Miller can't be stopped in victory at Oakshade

May 27, 2012, 10:15 am
From track reports

WAUSEON, Ohio (May 26) — Driving a Rick DeLong-owned car, Matt Miller of Whitehouse, Ohio captured his 20th career Sunoco American Late Model Series victory on Saturday at Oakshade Raceway. Miller earned $2,000 in the caution-free 30-lapper.

Rusty Schlenk of Weston, Ohio, led early in the main event with Miller pressuring the leader before going past and pulling away.

Miller’s biggest scare came in a close call while lapping Curtis Deisenroth, but he took the checkers comfortably ahead of Brian Ruhlman of Clarklake, Mich. Mike Spatola of Manhattan, Ill., was third followed by Jon Henry of Ada, Ohio, and Schlenk.

Miller’s victory was his second of the season at Oakshade and his first on the ALMS circuit since the previous Memorial Day weekend.

Notes: Miller drove the Rick DeLong Racing Rocket Chassis with sponsorship from Corrigan Race Fuels, Hoosier Tire and Port City Racing. ... Miller, who went into semi-retirement after splitting with car owner Stephen McCullough last summer, connected with DeLong this spring. ... DeLong normally drives the car himself but took a break with an ailing back. ... The Sunoco ALMS weekend continues Sunday at Eldora Speedway in Rossburg, Ohio, for the Johnny Appleseed Classic, a race Miller won last year. ... It’s the first Late Model event of the season at the Big E, which hosts the $100,000-to-win Dream two weeks later.

ALMS @ Oakshade: (1) Matt Miller, (2) Brian Ruhlman, (3) Mike Spatola, (4) Jon Henry, (5) Rusty Schlenk, (6) Devin Shiels, (7) Jeep Van Wormer, (8) Jeff Babcock, (9) Andrew Reaume, (10) Ryan Missler, (11) Chris Ross, (13) Curtis Deisenroth, (14) Rody Schroyer, (15) Justin Coulter, (16) Phil Ausra, (17) Hillard Miller, (18) B.J. Gregory, (19) Ryan VanderVeen, (20) Don Gordon, (21) Curtis Roberts, (22) Mike Bores. Heat race winners (among 44 cars): Spatola, Van Wormer, Ruhlman, Miller. Consolation winners: Reaume, Marcoullier.

Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728