Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Order | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1082
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Thunderhill Raceway

Putnam pockets $3,000 at Thunderhill

May 27, 2012, 8:12 am
By Connie Putnam
DirtonDirt.com correspondent
Josh Putnam heads for victory on Thunderhill's high banks. (photobyconnie.com)
Josh Putnam heads for victory on Thunderhill's high banks. (photobyconnie.com)

SUMMERTOWN, Tenn. (May 26) — Josh Putnam of Killen, Ala., earned $3,000 Saturday at Thunderhill Raceway in the unsanctioned Danny Sandrell Memorial.

Starting outside the front row, Putnam comfortably led all 40 laps of the caution-plagued feature in outrunning runner-up Tanner English of Benton, Ky. | Slideshow

Ray McElhiney of Pulaski, Tenn., finished third followed by fellow Tennesseans Daniel Miller of Lynchburg and David Brannon of Huntland.

The race was held in memory of the late Danny Sandrell, a long-time regular in Thunderhill’s Late Model division. In victory lane, Putnam was joined by his sister Jan while dedicating his victory to the late driver.

Notes: Putnam’s Pierce Race Car is powered by a Burns Racing Engine and sponsored by Hy-Pro Race Fuel & Parts, Miller’s Body Shop and Shorty’s Motorsports. ... Putnam was the fast qualifier but elected to start outside the front row. ... Runner-up Tanner English also drove a Pierce Car; he started on the pole. ... Besides several cautions for incidents, there was also a long delay when the track ambulance was called away to a highway accident. ... Stacey Tyler and Trent Letson were the only two Super Late Model drivers who didn’t start the main event. ... A.J. Ferguson won the feature for Limited Late Models and Crates, earning $1,000 while driving a new Pierce built by Putnam. ... Thunderhill’s next Super Late Model special is a $3,000-to-win event on June 30.

Danny Sandrell Memorial: (1) Josh Putnam, (2) Tanner English, (3) Ray McElhiney, (4) Daniel Miller, (5) David Brannon, (6) Brett Miller, (7) Todd Morrow, (8) Chad Winkles, (9) Seth McCormack, (10) Mark Fields, (11) Brad Glass, (12) John Minon, (13) William Burns, (14) Tony Chaney, (15) Mark Green, (16) Shane White, (17) Randy Todd, (18) Jerry Owens, (19) Steven Ashby, (20) Cale Finley, (21) Scott Cook, (22) Matt Potter, (23) Ben Kittrell, (24) Eric Hickerson. Fast qualifier (among 26 cars): Putnam, 11.717 seconds.

Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728