Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1082
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Eastside Speedway

Hometown driver completes Steel Block Bandits sweep

May 21, 2012, 1:00 pm
From series reports

WAYNESBORO, Va. (May 19) — Making his birthday weekend a big one, hometown driver Joey Leavell completed his sweep of Virginia’s Steel Block Bandits doubleheader weekend on Saturday at Eastside Speedway.

Leavell, who turned 39 on Sunday, became just the second driver in the four-year history of the circuit to claim back-to-back victories with Friday’s win at Natural Bridge Speedway and Saturday’s at his hometown Eastside. He pocketed $3,000 on the weekend.

Greg Roberson of Waynesboro, who had back-to-back series victories last season, was second at Eastside while two-time and reigning series champ Walker Arthur of Forest, Va., was third. Tyler Armstrong of St. Thomas, Pa., was fourth and Waynesboro’s Buck Roadcap rounded out the top five.

Leavell started on the pole for the 30-lapper and quickly took command of the race, building leads of as much as a full straightaway on the field at the 4/10-mile oval. He stayed in control all 30 laps for the victory to repeat Roberson’s feat from a year ago.

Roberson watched from his runner-up spot while the sixth-starting Arthur picked up two spots in the final laps to grab third.

Notes: Leavell’s Barry Wright Race Car is sponsored by Outback Steakhouse, R.D. Via Enterprises, Martin’s Drywall, Ace Machining, AFCO Racing Shocks and B&M Products. ... Andy Fries moved into the series lead, four points ahead of Tyler Armstrong and 10 ahead of Arthur. ...The series returns to action with a two-race night June 9 at Hagerstown (Md.) Speedway, the makeup of April 28’s rainout along with a complete event.

Steel Block Bandits @ Eastside: (1) Joey Leavell, (2) Greg Roberson, (3) Walker Arthur, (4) Tyler Armstrong, (5) Buck Roadcap, (6) Wesley Bonebrake, (7) Justin Fulton, (8) Glen Elliott, (9) Billy Beachler, (10) Andy Fries, (11) Walter Crouch, (12) Christian Joyner, (13) Daniel Brown Jr., (14) David Caywood, (15) Lee Jamerson, (16) R.E. Cubbage, (17) Junior Humphreys, (18) Tommy Hoy, (19) Kenny Geer. Scratched: Denny Bonebrake. Fast qualifier (among 20 cars): Leavell, 19.149 seconds. Heat race winners: Leavell, Roberson, Armstrong.

Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728