Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Order | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1069
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Cedar County Raceway

Chris Simpson tops brother Chad at Cedar County

May 19, 2012, 10:15 am
From series reports
Chris Simpson earned $3,000 at Cedar County Raceway. (www.jdphotosports.photoreflect.com)
Chris Simpson earned $3,000 at Cedar County Raceway. (www.jdphotosports.photoreflect.com)

TIPTON, Iowa (May 18) —Chris Simpson of Oxford, Iowa, broke through for his first victory of the season Friday night at Cedar County Raceway, topping his older brother Chad Simpson to score a $3,000 payday in Dart Corn Belt Clash action at the quarter-mile oval. | Slideshow

Simpson topped older brother and two-time, defending series champion Chad Simpson of Mount Vernon, Iowa, in claiming his fourth-career series victory.

Starting from the pole, Chris Simpson set a torrid pace early in the ---lapper. Even after several early cautions erased his lead, Simpson was still able to keep strong control out front as he was pursued closely by his brother-in-law Andy Eckrich and his brother Chad.

Chad Simpson worked his way by Eckrich for second just before the caution flew with one lap remaining, setting up a green-white-checkered battle to the finish between the two Simpson brothers.

Using a strong restart, Chris Simpson jumped out to a two-car length lead when the race went back green and never relented. He held the same advantage as he took the checkered flag for the victory.

The older Simpson settled for the runner-up finish while Eckrich of Iowa City, Iowa, was third. Jeff Larson of Freeport, Ill., and Justin Kay of Wheatland, Iowa, rounded out the race’s top five finishers.

Notes: The winning Simpson brother drivers a Longhorn Chassis powered by a Pro Power Racing engine and sponsored by GearWrench, Five Star Shop Service and Christner Concrete. … Chris Simpson is a distant second to his brother on the tour’s all-time win list. Chad has 16 career victories. … The two brothers have combined to win three of the four Clash events held at Cedar County. Chris also won the track’s only series race in 2011 while Chad split victories with Jeff Aikey of Waterloo, Iowa, in 2010. … Tim Isenberg of Marshfield, Wis., earned the race’s Hooker Harness Hard Charger Award for his 12th-to-sixth run. ... The Corn Belt Clash Series returns to action on May 27 with $4,000-to-win event at I-80 Speedway in Greenwood, Neb.

CCB @ Cedar County: (1) Chris Simpson (2) Chad Simpson, (3) Andy Eckrich, (4) Jeff Larson, (5) Justin Kay (6) Tim Isenberg, (7) Jake Meir, (8) Andrew McKay, (9) Denny Eckrich, (10) Justin Mitchell, (11) Gary Webb, (12) Bob Cullen, (13) Mark Burgtorf, (14) Rob Moss, (15) Dave Eckrich, (16) Jill George, (17) Charlie McKenna, (18) Kevin Sather, (19) Mike Fryer, (20) John Rogers, (21) Jason Rauen, (22) Matt Furman, (23) Jason Utter, (24) Kurt Kile. Heat race winners (among 32 cars): Larson, Meir, Dave Eckrich. Consolation race winners: Denny Eckrich, Mitchell. Provisional starters: George, Kile.

Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728