Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1187
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Screven Motor Speedway

James rebounds with victory at Screven

April 5, 2008, 7:12 am
From series reports
Scott James (83) moves past Terry Casey. (carlsonracephotos.com)
Scott James (83) moves past Terry Casey. (carlsonracephotos.com)

SYLVANIA, Ga. (April 4) — Scott James of Lawrenceburg, Ind., took the lead from Tim Dohm of Charleston, W.Va., on lap 21 and then held off Jimmy Owens of Newport, Tenn., to win the 50-lap main event on the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series at Screven Motor Speedway. | Slideshow | Lucas Oil schedule

James used a unique line around the track in his by running high through turns one, two and three, and then driving off the bottom of turn four to cover the inside where Owens was the strongest. Owens settled for second while Dohm was third ahead of Randy Weaver of Crossville, Tenn., and Donnie Moran of Dresden, Ohio. The race was slowed by nine caution flags.

Terry Casey of New London, Wis., winner of the previous two Lucas Oil events, set fast time and won a heat race at Screven but could do no better than seventh in the feature.

James, who took a provisional starting spot in the previous two Lucas Oil events, earned his first series victory of the season and fourth of his career. His previous victory came June 14, 2007, at Duck River Speedway in Wheel, Tenn.

The series wraps up its Georgia tripleheader on Sunday at Golden Isles Speedway near Brunswick, Ga. Rain postponed Saturday's action at Golden Isles.

Notes: James' Rocket Chassis has a Jay Dickens powerplant and sponsorship from Baylor Trucking and Powell Motorsports. ... Don O'Neal went from 23rd to 14th to earn the PBM/Erson Cams Hard Charger honors. ... Among drivers failing to make the feature lineup: Damon Eller, Casey Roberts, Dion Deason, Jason Fitzgerald, John Mason and Ed Basey. ... Screven is loaded with Late Model special events in 2008. Coming up is the Carolina Clash (May 10), NeSmith Chevrolet Crate series (May 24), Southeastern Limited Late Model Series (June 28), O'Reilly Southern All Stars (July 5), Southern Nationals (July 19), World of Outlaws (Aug. 16) and an O'Reilly SAS-SAS East co-sanctioned event (Sept. 13).

Lucas Oil @ Screven: (1) Scott James, (2) Jimmy Owens, (3) Tim Dohm, (4) Randy Weaver, (5) Donnie Moran, (6) Justin Rattliff, (7) Terry Casey, (8) Billy Drake, (9) Ronny Lee Hollingsworth, (10) Bart Hartman, (11) Randle Chupp, (12) Ray Cook, (13) Steve Casebolt, (14) Don O'Neal, (15) Earl Pearson Jr., (16) Ivedent Lloyd Jr., (17) Wayne Chinn, (18) Shane Riner, (19) Dennis Franklin, (20) Dillon Wood, (21) Jonathan Davenport, (22) Dan Schlieper, (23) Freddy Smith, (23) Branden Yawn, (24) Casey Barrow. Fast qualifier (among 52 cars): Casey, 13.976 seconds. Heat race winners: Casey, James, Owens, Dohm. Consolation winners: Hartman, Chupp. Provisional starters: O'Neal, F. Smith, Yawn.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728