Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Order | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1010
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Davenport Speedway

Murphy repels Kay for second straight Deery victory

April 21, 2012, 5:53 am
From series reports
Mike Murphy Jr. heads for victory at Davenport. (chrisdamitz.com)
Mike Murphy Jr. heads for victory at Davenport. (chrisdamitz.com)

DAVENPORT, Iowa (April 20) — Mike Murphy Jr.’s second Deery Brothers Summer Series win of the season looked a lot like his first. The Colona, Ill., driver led all 40 laps of Friday’s IMCA Late Model tour main event at Davenport Speedway, pulling away from the field much the same way he did two weeks ago in winning at 34 Raceway in West Burlington, Iowa.

The outside row-one starter rocketed into the lead at the drop of the initial green and again on the restart that followed the only caution of the night, on lap three.

Murphy was checked out by midway, when Justin Kay of Wheatland, Iowa, caught Andy Eckrich of Iowa City, Iowa, for second. Lapped traffic came into play as Kay was able to reel in the leader and was trying to get his nose inside Murphy with 10 circuits left.

Murphy shut the door instead, getting a lapped car ahead of Kay before wheeling away to win by a comfortable margin. The victory, the third of his series career, paid $2,000.

Kay’s runner-up finish was his series-best showing on the series while Denny Eckrich of Tiffin, Iowa, Dan Shelliam of Hazel Green, Wis., and Andy Eckrich completed the top five.

Two-time defending series champion Ray Guss Jr. broke in hot laps and ended a string a 55 consecutive feature appearances dating back to Sept. 28, 2008.

Notes: Murphy's No. 14 is sponsored by Sherri D's Auto Sales, Riverbend Pizza Place and Rock River Arms. ... Mark Burgtorf of Quincy, Ill., rallied to finish sixth after winning a consolation race. ... Provisional starter Mike Garland made a 24th-to-12th run for hard charger honors. ... Colby Springsteen won the $250 Sunoco Race Fuels feature qualifier drawing. ... Besides Ray Guss Jr., among drivers failing to make the main event: Kyle Hinrichs, Dean Wagner and Travis Denning. ... Murphy will have sole possession of the points lead when night two of the weekend tripleheader takes the series to West Liberty (Iowa) Raceway on Saturday. Pit gates open at 4 p.m., grandstands at 4:30 p.m. and hot laps are at 6:30 p.m. ... Dubuque (Iowa) Fairgrounds Speedway hosts Sunday’s weekend finale.

Deery Brothers @ Davenport: (1) Mike Murphy Jr., (2) Justin Kay, (3) Denny Eckrich, (4) Dan Shelliam, (5) Andy Eckrich, (6) Mark Burgtorf, (7) Nate Beuseling, (8) Jay Johnson, (9) Jeff Aikey, (10) Darrel DeFrance, (11) Colby Springsteen, (12) Mike Garland, (13) Joel Callahan, (14) Tyler Bruening, (15) Mike Zemo Jr., (16) Matt Strassheim, (17) Chad Patch, (18) Bryan Klein, (19) Tommy Elston, (20) Gary Webb, (21) Tom Darbyshire, (22) Luke Goedert, (23) Joe Zrostlik, (24) Charlie McKenna. Heat race winners (among 39 cars): Darbyshire, McKenna, Murphy, Kay. Consolation winners: Klein, Burgtorf. Provisional starters: Elston, Garland, Bruening, Goedert.

Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728