Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 257
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Winchester Speedway

Non-stop Dickson grabs $5,000 at Winchester

April 16, 2012, 6:12 am
By Doug Watson
Winchester Speedway
Nick Dickson takes the checkers in his caution-free victory. (Travis Trussell)
Nick Dickson takes the checkers in his caution-free victory. (Travis Trussell)

WINCHESTER, Va. (April 14) — Nick Dickson of Lewistown, Pa., led all the way in Saturday's Lee Stultz Memorial at Winchester Speedway for a $5,000 victory, his first at the 3/8-mile oval.

Starting on the pole in a 3-race-old car, Dickson maneuvered through traffic in keeping his competitors at bay in the unsanctioned event while making his first Winchester start of the season. | Slideshow

“That race felt like it was 12 hours long!” he said in victory lane. “Going green to checker like that is tough because you don’t know how big of a lead you have, and there are so many good cars here you really have to be careful in traffic, but it all worked out good for us tonight.”

Hometown driver and five-time track champ Bo Feathers was second followed by Kenny Pettyjohn of Milton, Del. Ninth-starting Ronnie DeHaven Jr. of Winchester and Jason Covert of York Haven, Pa., rounded out the top five in the 40-lapper.

Instead of 12 hours, Dickson's victory took just over 12 minutes in the non-stop affair as he became Winchester's third winner in three 2012 events.

Notes: Dickson's MasterSbilt Race Car is sponsored by Dickson's Custom Exhaust, Speedwrapz Sportswear and MasterSbilt by Huey. ... In three 2012 starts Dickson has been no worse than third. ... Tim Fuller of Watertown, N.Y., making his first start since dropping off the World of Outlaws circuit, won the consolation race and finished 15th. ... Drivers failing to crack the feature lineup: Duane Harbaugh, Brad Omps, Ron Delano Jr., Wayne Johnson, Matt Murphy, Tim Murphy, Jon Painter, Glen Elliott, Tony Crim, Keith Jackson. ... Andy Anderson won the night's Limited Late Model feature. ... April 21 is $2,000-to-win Penske Shocks Night for the Super Late Models at Winchester.

Lee Stultz Memorial: (1) Nick Dickson, (2) Bo Feathers, (3) Kenny Pettyjohn, (4) Ronnie DeHaven Jr., (5) Jason Covert, (6) D.J. Myers, (7) Jeremy Miller, (8) Trever Feathers, (9) Gary Stuhler, (10) Coleby Frye, (11) Tyler Hershey, 12) Kyle Hardy, (13) David Watts, (14) Joe Leavell, (15) Tim Fuller, (16) Scott LeBarron, (17) Gerald Davis, (18) Jerry Bard, (19) Frankie Plessinger, (20) Denny Bonebrake, (21) Roy Deese, (22) Tommy Armel, (23) Alan Sagi, (24) Dale Hollidge. Fast qualifier (among 34 cars): Dickson, 14.831 seconds. Heat race winners: Dickson, Pettyjohn, Covert. Consolation winner: Fuller.

Correction: Fixes Nick Dickson's hometown to Lewistown sted Lewiston.

Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728