Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Order | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1140
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Diamond Park Speedway

Rookie gets Comp Cams victory at Diamond Park

April 15, 2012, 7:14 pm
From series reports

NASHVILLE, Ark. (April 14) — Series rookie Robert Baker of Bryant, Ark., went from third to first on a late restart at Diamond Park Speedway for a $2,000 victory, his first on the Comp Cam Super Dirt Series.

Baker joins Larry Campbell of Van Buren, Ark., as a rookie winner on the series in 2012 after just four series events.

Polesitter Jeff Chanler of Minden, La., who led the first 30 laps, settled for second ahead of reigning series champ Brandon Smith of Floral, Ark., and 19th-starting Kyle Beard of Trumann, Ark. Trey Beene of Bossier City, La., rounded out the top five finishers at the quarter-mile oval.

Chanler got the jump on Smith, who started outside the front row, and took command in a 35-lap feature plagued by nine cautions. Chanler was on cruise control early in the race while Smith, R.C. Whitwell and Campbell mixed it up for second.

Baker, who started inside the eighth row, broke into the top 10 early in the race and was up to third at a lap-30 yellow flag.

On the ensuing restart, Baker blasted the cushion to sweep into the lead, driving away from the pack over the final five laps for the victory.

Notes: Baker's No. 17m is sponsored by McNew Fabrication & Welding, Kuntz & Co. Power and B&M Motorsports. ... The Larry Shaw Race Cars Hard Charger was fourth-place finisher Kyle Beard, who advanced fifteen spots after using a provisional starting spot to start 19th. ... The night's scariest moment came on lap 28 when contact sent Clay Fisher of Dewitt, Ark., flying off the backstretch through the corner of a building and into the base of the pit grandstands. No one was injured, but Fisher's car was totaled; he received the Quarter Master Hard Luck award. ... Drivers failing to make the feature lineup: Keith Lawson, Chad Patterson, Eric Conner and Travis Ashley. ... Next up for the Comp Cams tour is April 20-21 action at Beebe (Ark) Speedway and Riverside International Speedway in West Memphis, Ark.

Jerry Bob Mitchell Memorial: (1) Robert Baker, (2) Jeff Chanler, (3) Brandon Smith, (4) Kyle Beard, (5) Trey Beene, (6) Jon Mitchell, (7) Tommy Surrett, (8) Curtis Cook, (9) Johnny Virden, (10) Jon Kirby, (11) Chandler Petty, (12) Dale Armstrong, (13) Kenneth Jackson, (14) Larry Campbell, (15) Clay Fisher, (16) Allen Murray, (17) R.C. Whitwell, (18) Gary Christian, (19) Larry Potter, (20) Wesley Crutchfield. Heat race winners (among 24 cars): Smith, Whitwell, Chanler. Consolation winner: Baker.

Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728