Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1069
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

ArkLaTex Speedway

Whiseant grabs pole position for Pelican 100

March 17, 2012, 2:40 am
From track reports
Duke Whiseant (A1) battles Chris Wall (5f). (scottscustomart.com)
Duke Whiseant (A1) battles Chris Wall (5f). (scottscustomart.com)

VIVIAN, La. (March 16) — Duke Whiseant of Texarkana, Ark., captured the first heat race at Friday's second annual Pelican 100 to earn the pole position for Saturday's unsanctioned main event at ArkLaTex Speedway.

Whiseant, returning to Late Model competition for the first time in several seasons, will start alongside last year's winner Ray Moore of Haughton, La., winner of Friday's second heat race. | Video | Slideshow

The $10,000-to-win, $800-to-start is the richest Late Model event this season in Louisiana.

Whiseant won an early battle in the first prelim with fast qualifier Chris Wall of Holden, La., who made his debut with Childress Motorsports and topped 25 qualifiers with a 13.820-second lap at the quarter-mile oval.

In the second heat, Moore raced to victory over Jon Mitchell of Texarkana, Texas, who came from the fifth spot to score a runner-up finish. Trey Beene, Allen Murray and Ronny Adams were part of a last-lap wreck in the prelim.

The third and final heat race went to Jesse Stovall of Galena, Mo., who started fourth and won the caution-free 10-lapper. Billy Moyer Jr. of Batesville, Ark., overcame a poor qualifying effort, rallying from seventh to finish second ahead of Brooks Strength of Jackson, Miss.

The first six rows of Saturday's main event are set with the remaining six rows to be set through consolation and last-chance races preceding the feature.

Notes: Besides Wall, B.J Robinson and Chad Dupont competed in Childress Motorsports entries. Childress Rentals is sponsored the events last-chance race. ... Trey Beene, caught up in a heat race accident, is expected to get a backup car to compete in Saturday's consolation events. ... Shane Harris of Sheridan, Ark., Tommy Surrett of Little Rock, Ark., and James Harper of Monroe, La., were among drivers who practiced Thursday but didn't enter the event. ... Brett Frazier of Haughton, La., scratched from time trials after entering.

Pelican 100 lineup

Row 1: Duke Whiseant, Ray Moore
Row 2: Jesse Stovall, Chris Wall
Row 3: Jon Mitchell, Billy Moyer Jr.
Row 4: Bub McCool, Chad Dupont
Row 5: Brooks Strength, Morgan Bagley
Row 6: B.J. Robinson, Jon Kirby
Row 7: Consolation transferrees
Row 8: Consolation transferrees
Row 9: Consolation transferrees
Row 10: Consolation transferrees
Row 11: Provisional starters

Row 12: Last-chance race

Consolation lineup

Row 1: Jack Sullivan, Justin Asplin
Row 2: Stacy Taylor, Timothy Culp
Row 3: Allen Murray, Jason Ingalls
Row 4: Jeff Chandler, Trey Beene
Row 5: Jay Brunson, Lee Davis
Row 6: Ronny Adams, Troy Berdan

Row 7: Doug Ingalls, Brett Frazier

Heat race results

First heat: Duke Whiseant, Chris Wall, Bub McCool, Morgan Bagley, Jack Sullivan, Timothy Culp, Jeff Chanler, Lee Davis, Doug Ingalls
Second heat: Ray Moore, Jon Mitchell, Chad Dupont, B.J. Robinson, Justin Asplin, Allen Murray, Trey Beene, Ronny Adams, Brett Frazier.

Third heat: Jesse Stovall, Billy Moyer Jr., Brooks Strength, Jon Kirby, Stacy Taylor, Jason Ingalls, Jay Brunson, Troy Berdan.

Time trials

1. Chris Wall (F5), Holden La., 13.820
2. Ray Moore (93), Haughton, La., 12.872
3. Brooks Strength (444), Jackson, Miss., 13.949
4. Duke Whiseant (A1), Texarkana, Ark., 13.955
5. Chad Dupont (K5), Bossier City, La. 14.037
6. Jon Kirby (11), Russellville, Ark., 14.143
7. Jack Sullivan (1), Greenbrier, Ark., 14.201
8. Trey Beene (115), Bossier City, La., 14.210
9. Stacy Taylor (27), Jacksonville, Ark., 14.280
10. Bub McCool (57j), Vicksburg, Miss, 14.285
11. Ronny Adams (1A), Diana, Texas, 14.310
12. Jesse Stovall (00), Galena, Mo., 14.339
13. Morgan Bagley (14m), Longview, Texas, 14.343
14. Jon Mitchell (5), Texarkana, Texas, 14.348
15. Jay Brunson (23B), Dubberly, La., 14.375
16. Timothy Culp (c8), West Monroe, La., 14.377
17. Allen Murray (2), San Antonio, Texas, 14.384
18. Jason Ingalls (87m), Longview, Texas, 14.421
19. Lee Davis (21D), Greenwood, La., 14.462
20. B.J. Robinson (R5), Blanchard, La., 14.465
21. Billy Moyer Jr. (21jr), Batesville, Ark., 14.469
22. Jeff Chanler (11c), Minden, La., 14.470
23. Justin Asplin (77a), Birch Tree, Mo., 14.682
24. Troy Berdan (02), Minden, La., 15.220
25. Doug Ingalls (29), Longview, Texas, 15.330
26. Brett Frazier (F1), Haughton, La., no time
Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728