Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 258
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Devin Moran scores victory Down Under

January 20, 2012, 11:43 am
From series reports
Devin Moran won the NSW Late Model Championship in Australia. (Rashy Pics)
Devin Moran won the NSW Late Model Championship in Australia. (Rashy Pics)

LISMORE, New South Wales (Jan. 14) After American drivers swept the three-track UltraTune Morley USA Late Model Invasion Tour on Australia’s west coast, Devin Moran of Dresden, Ohio continued the American reign Down Under on the country’s east coast with a victory in Saturday’s New South Wales Late Model Championship at Lucas Oil Lismore Speedway.

Moran, who scored a victory and two third place finishes in the event’s qualifying races, held off challenges from fellow American invader Steve Francis of Ashland, Ky., and a host of Australian drivers in the 30-lap main event to pick up the victory.

The pole-starting Moran jumped to initial lead and opened up a comfortable advantage while fourth-starting Francis worked his way forward. Francis, who scored a pair of victories in the USA Invasion Tour, looked to challenge for the lead midway through the race, but pulled to the infield with power steering issues.

Australian drivers Brad Blake, Darryl Grimson and defending race winner Nathan Disney all took their shots at Moran after Francis’ demise, but the young driver pulled away in the closing laps on his way to victory.

Blake finished second with Grimson third. Fellow Australian drivers Blair Granger and Kev Stow rounded out the top five finishers.

Late Model action Down Under will continue this weekend in the Frank’s Auto Parts Australian Late Model Championship at Tyrepower Sydney Speedway in Granville, New South Wales. The track is located just outside Sydney, New South Wale’s capital and Australia’s most populated city.

NSW Late Model Championship: (1) Devin Moran (2) Brad Blake (3) Darryl Grimson (4) Blair Granger (5) Kev Stow, (6) Matt Ingrey, (7) Russell Bonsey, (8) Ed Borg (9) Steve van Zeeland, (10) Aaron van Zeeland, (11) Jake Hawkins, (11) Nathan Disney, (12) Steve Francis, (13) David Robertson, (14) Ben Nicastri.

Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728