Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Order | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1069
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Lake Cumberland Speedway

O'Neal among Mac Metals 100 heat polesitters

October 22, 2011, 5:17 am
By Michael Despain
DirtonDirt.com correspondent

BURNSIDE, Ky. (Oct. 21) — Newly crowned Dirt Track World Champion Don O'Neal of Martinsville, Ind., will be among heat race polesitters Saturday night at Lake Cumberland Speedway at the 21st annual Mac Metals Lake Cumberland Classic.

O'Neal was the overall fast qualifier among 31 Super Late Model entries for the unsanctioned event to earn a pole start in a heat race along with Aaron Hatton of Mount Sterling, Ky., Chad Stapleton of Edinburgh, Ind., and Justin Rattliff of Campbellsville, Ky.

The top three finishers from each of four heats will transfers to Saturday's $10,000-to-win main event. Four more drivers apiece from each of two consolation races and two provisional starters will make up the 22-car field at the 3/8-mile oval.

O'Neal topped qualifying with a 13.462-second lap, the only driver under 13.5 seconds at Lake Cumberland. He'll start on the pole of the third heat because he was fastest in the second of two qualifying groups.

Notes: Track champion Johnny Wheeler of Campbellsville, Ky., was fifth quickest in qualifying at 13.757 seconds. ... Last week's winner Skylar Marlar of Winfield, Tenn., had a sub-par qualifying effort and will start outside the third row in the second heat. ... Three other divisions are in action — modifieds, super dirt stocks and front-wheel drive, with all of them completing heat race action. ... In all 63 race teams entered the event among four divisions. ... Late Model entrant Tommy Bailey of Corbin, Ky., was among modified heat race winners.

Heat race lineups

First heat
Row 1: Aaron Hatton, Johnny Wheeler Jr.
Row 2: Joey Daniel, Rod Carter Jr.
Row 3: Steve Smith, Michael Chilton
Row 4: Rand Ridner, Timmy Yeager
Second heat
Row 1: Chad Stapleton, Jason Jameson
Row 2: Bobby Wolter Jr., Tommy Bailey
Row 3: Tyrel Todd, Skylar Marlar
Row 4: Shelby Johnson
Third heat
Row 1: Don O'Neal, Victor Lee
Row 2: Michael Asberry, Jeff Watson
Row 3: Danny McGlothlin, Kenny Cobble
Row 4: Anthony Reams, Jarryd Holshouser
Fourth heat
Row 1: Justin Rattliff, Dillan White
Row 2: Tim Taylor, Dustin Neat
Row 3: Jeff Rawlings, Freddie Brock
Row 4: Lester Decker, Dennis Barton
Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728