Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1010
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Brownstown Speedway

Owens fastest among 39 qualifiers at Jackson 100

September 24, 2011, 1:23 am
From series reports

BROWNSTOWN, Ind. (Sept. 23) — Jimmy Owens of Newport, Tenn., locked in a tight championship chase with Scott Bloomquist, got the upper hand Friday at Brownstown Speedway on the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series.

Owens was the fastest of 39 qualifiers for the 32nd annual Jackson 100, giving him the pole position in the first of four heat races Saturday at the quarter-mile oval. He tripped the clock at 14.198 seconds.

Earning 10 points as fast qualifier, Owens cut Bloomquist's lead to 20 points heading into Saturday's action. Bloomquist, who grabbed the points lead from Owens last weekend with his second and third straight victories on the circuit, will start fourth in the third heat.

"I knew we were going to be fast once we hot-lapped," Owens said. "We were aiming to miss the berm in one and two, because we saw that it was costing guys a lot of time. As far as last weekend goes, we've just put it all out of our minds and have turned our focus to this race and beyond."

Besides Owens, other heat race polesitters are Steve Francis of Ashland, Ky., Justin Rattliff of Campbellsville, Ky., and Joe Janowski of Columbus, Ind.

Four 12-lap heat races are scheduled for 6 p.m. followed by two 15-lap consolation races and the 100-lap main event paying $20,000 to the winner.

Notes: Owens drives a Bloomqusit Race Car with a Cornett-built Ford powerplant and sponsorship from Reece Monument, Gantte Appraisals, Red Line Oil and Ohlins. ... The car count for Brownstown's richest event was down significantly from recent years. The Jackson 100 has averaged 56 cars per event the past three seasons. ... Pre-race events at Brownstown on Saturday include a Dirt Racing Outreach worship service at 3:30 p.m. ... An autograph session for drivers is scheduled for 4:30 p.m. ... There will be no Late Model hot laps on Saturday.

Heat race lineups

First heat
Row 1: Jimmy Owens, John Blankenship
Row 2: Kent Robinson, Brian Birkhofer
Row 3: Tyler Reddick, Don O'Neal
Row 4: Greg Kendall, Brian Wilhite
Row 5: Michael Chilton, Chad Stapleton
Second heat
Row 1: Steve Francis, Earl Pearson Jr.
Row 2: Jared Landers, Eric Wells
Row 3: Greg Johnson, Jared Hawkins
Row 4: Zak Blackwood, Dustin Neat
Row 5: Dillan White, Lindsay Wade
Third heat
Row 1: Justin Rattliff, Brad Neat
Row 2: Steve Casebolt, Scott Bloomquist
Row 3: John Mason, Tyler Allen
Row 4: Mike Jewell, Jeremy Hines
Row 5: Alan Magner, Larry Greer
Fourth heat
Row 1: Joe Janowski, Scott James
Row 2: Dale McDowell, Josh McGuire
Row 3: Chris Streeval, Matt Boknecht
Row 4: Ray Cook, Shannon Reed
Row 5: Ron McQuerry
Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728