Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 886
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Kankakee County Speedway

Unzicker tops Schlenk, Henry for key victory

September 17, 2011, 8:48 am
From track reports

KANKAKEE, Ill. (Sept. 16) — Winning a showdown with his closest pursuers, Ryan Unzicker of El Paso, Ill., maintained his UMP DIRTcar points lead Friday with a victory at Kankakee County Speedway.

The 28-year-old Unzicker notched his third straight victory and 15th of the season in pursuit of the $20,000 title based on the best 35 performances of the year in UMP DIRTcar action. The title chase is entered its final three weekends.

Unzicker, who started outside the front row, took the checkers in front of Scott Schmitt of Tonica, Ill. Ohio drivers Rusty Schlenk of Weston and Jon Henry of Ada — second and third to Unzicker in the points chase — finished third and fourth in Friday's feature while Mike Spatola of Manhattan, Ill., rounded out the top five.

Polesitter Jay Morris of Pittwood, Ill., ended up eighth in a 17-car feature where a dozen drivers were running at the finish

Notes: Unzicker's MasterSbilt Race Car has a Rhyne Competition Engine and sponsorship from RJR Transportation and Schumacher's Tyre Service. ... Unzicker earned $1,000. .... Fast qualifier Steve Thorsten of Chebanse, Ill., was the first driver out of the main event. .... Richie Hedrick of Urbana, Ill., was the hard charger with his 14th-to-seventh run. ... Kankakee pays $1,500-to-win on Sept. 23 and continues racing Sept. 30-Oct. 1 with Rocktoberfest. ... Oct. 22 wraps up the season with outlaw-rules night.

Kankakee County Speedway: (1) Ryan Unicker, (2) Scott Schmitt, (3) Rusty Schlenk, (4) Jon Henry, (5) Mike Spatola, (6) Russ Scheffler, (7) Richie Hedrick, (8) Jay Morris, (9) Bill Gianetti, (10) Glen Thompson, (11) Gary Schalmo, (12) Tom Smith, (13) Mike Provenzano, (14) Randy Manos, (15) Joseph Hughes, (16) Don Hilleary, (17) Steve Thorsten. Fast qualifier (among 17 cars): Thorsten, 14.773 seconds. Heat race winners: Schlenk, Morris.

Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728