Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 923
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Farley Speedway

IMCA series, weekly champs prepare for Shootout

September 14, 2011, 5:59 pm
By Bill Martin
IMCA Late Models

Sixteen of the best drivers from the past quarter-century of IMCA Late Model competition have confirmed that they’ll be part of the Brodix Silver Anniversary Shootout on Friday, Sept. 16 at Farley Speedway.

The $1,000 to win event pits former tour and national champions in a 20-lap contest during the evening’s Deery Brothers Summer Series program. The tour’s $7,500 to win Yankee Dirt Track Classic feature will be Saturday.

Drivers who have notified IMCA they’ll be in the race include Jeff Aikey, Kevin Blum, Mark Burgtorf, Todd Cooney, Darrel DeFrance, Jeff French, Ray Guss Jr., Jay Johnson, Curt Martin, Boone McLaughlin, Layne Meyer, Terry Neal, Denny Osborn, Terry Schlipman, Mike Smith and Gary Webb.

“There are a couple other drivers who are still maybe’s for this event, whether in their car or in a borrowed car,” said tour director Kevin Yoder. “This is certainly going to be a great opportunity for fans to see some of their favorite IMCA Late Model drivers from over the years.”

The race pays a minimum to $125 to start. All drivers will compete with special roofs, produced by New Vision Graphics of Batesville, Ark., and emblazoned with the silver anniversary logo and customized with their individual names, car numbers and championship accomplishments.

Aikey raced to IMCA and Deery crowns in 1987, topping tour points again in 1988, 1996, 1999, 2006 and 2009. Martin was first in IMCA points in 1990 and 1999, and reigned as series champion in 1990 and 1991.

French owns hardware as the IMCA champ in 1991 and the Deery titlist in 1993. Burgtorf earned both national and series crowns in 1998, and added Deery prizes in 2001 and 2003.

Guss won both national and series championships last season and has already secured the 2011 IMCA crown. He has a seven point advantage over runner-up Andy Eckrich heading into the Yankee, the next to the last event on this year’s Deery schedule.

Weekly points champs were Osborn in 1989, DeFrance in 1993, 2006 and 2007, Meyer in 1995, Cooney in 1997 and 2002, and Blum in 2009. Notably, DeFrance will compete at his 384th consecutive Deery event Friday night. He’s the only driver with perfect attendance throughout the nearly 25 full years of series history.

Series champions include Johnson in 1989, Smith in 1992 and 2000, Webb in 1994, 1995 and 1997, Schlipman in 2002, Neal in 2005 and McLaughlin in 2008.

Pit gates at Farley open at 5 p.m., the grandstand opens at 5:30 p.m., hot laps are at 6:30 p.m. with racing to follow on Friday. On Saturday, the pits open at 3 p.m. and the grandstand opens at 3:30 p.m. Racing follows 5:30 p.m. hot laps.

More information about grandstand admission and the entire Yankee Dirt Track Classic schedule is available by calling 563 744-3620 and at the www.simmonspromotionsinc.com website.

Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728