Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Order | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 930
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Proctor Speedway

Nelson, Hanson share Twin Port 25s at Proctor

August 1, 2011, 8:58 am
By Jerry O'Brien
DirtonDirt.com correspondent
Kerry Hanson heads for his first Proctor victory in 20 years. (chrisburback.com)
Kerry Hanson heads for his first Proctor victory in 20 years. (chrisburback.com)

PROCTOR, Minn. (July 31) — Darrell Nelson of Hermantown, Minn., and Kerry Hanson of Baldwin, Wis., earned $1,500 apiece Sunday at Proctor Speedway for victories in the Twin Ports 25s, twin feature races for WISSOTA-sanctioned Late Models. | Slideshow

Nelson repeated his victory in last year's opener of the double header while Hanson, formerly a resident of nearby Duluth, Minn., grabbed his first feature victory at Proctor in 20 years. Harry Hanson of Eveleth, Minn., was the only driver to notch top-five finishes in both caution-free races, which saw the top 16 finishers from the first event inverted for the lineup for the second feature.

In the first feature, Nelson took the lead from the pole position with Don Copp, Eric Breeschoten and Steve Laursen giving chase. Nelson built nearly a straightaway lead on Copp and then began maneuvering through lapped traffic, maintaining and edge on Copp. Nelson went on to win with Copp, Breeschoten, Adam Hensel and Harry Hanson in the top five.

John Henkemeyer and Kerry Hanson started on the front row in the nightcap and Hanson blitzed the field at the outset while Henkemeyer, Jeff Provinzino, Caley Emerson and Tim McMann pursued him. Hanson put it in cruise control out front, but Kyle Peterlin stormed forward from his eighth starting spot, cutting into the lead. Peterlin fell a half-length short at the finish with Henkemeyer, Harry Hanson and Tommy Waseleski Jr. rounded out the top five.

Notes: Nelson is sponsored by Tarnowski Bros. Construction, Amsoil, Hermantown Storage and U.S. Steel. ... Kerry Hanson is sponsored by Liquor Haus, Midwest Truck Service and Andreas Construction. ... Non-qualifiers for the features received $271 as fans and businesses donated to a special fund, increasing the $100 tow money. ... Stewart Hayward of Calgary, Alberta, won the long-haul award. ... A $1,000 bonus was on the line for a driving sweeping the main events. ... Harry Hanson's highest average finish paid him a $500 bonus.

Twin Ports 25s (first feature): (1) Darrell Nelson, (2) Don Copp, (3) Eric Breeschoten, (4) Adam Hensel, (5) Harry Hanson, (6) Steve Laursen, (7) Jake Redetzke, (8) Darin Meierotto, (9) Kyle Peterlin, (9) Tommy Waseleski Jr., (10) Kevin Carlson, (11) Tim McMann, (12) Caley Emerson, (13) Provinzino, (14) Kerry Hanson, (15) John Henkemeyer, (16) Aaron Lillo, (17) Terry Lillo, (18) Todd Gehl, (19) John Kaanta, (20) Marshall Fegers, (21) Danny Young, (22) George Ledin Jr., (23) Dave Esse. Heat race winners (among 33 cars): Copp, Nelson, Hensel, Breeschoten. Consolation winners: Young, K. Hanson.

Twin Ports 25s (second feature): (1) Kerry Hanson, (2) Kyle Peterlin, (3) John Henkemeyer, (4) Harry Hanson, (5) Tommy Waseleski Jr., (6) Jeff Provinzino, (7) Jake Redetzke, (8) Darrell Nelson, (9) Caley Emerson, (10) Darin Meierotto, (11) Eric Breeschoten, (12) Kevin Carlson, (13) Adam Hensel, (14) Terry Lillo, (15) Steve Laursen, (16) Don Copp, (17) Tim McMann, (18) John Kaanta, (19) Danny Young, (20) Marshall Fegers, (21) Todd Gehl, (22) Dave Esse, (23) George Ledin Jr.

Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728