Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1144
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Hibbing Raceway

Redetzke lands pole for Governor's Cup

July 23, 2011, 7:30 am
From track and staff reports

HIBBING, Minn. (July 22) — Jake Redetzke of Eau Claire, Wis., raced to a semifeature victory Friday at Hibbing Raceway to claim the pole positions for Saturday's third annual Governor's Cup, a $10,000-to-win event for WISSOTA Late Models.

Redetzke worked past Adam Hensel of Barron, Wis., in a side-by-side battle and grabbed the 20-lap victory that set the first six rows of the starting field for Saturday's 100-lapper.

Hensel finished second with A.J. Diemel of Navarino, Wis., in third. Ryan Aho of Chisholm, Minn., was fourth and Brady Smith of Solon Springs, Wis., made a late charge to round out the top five.

Notes: The race, one of the region's richest of the year, drew 36 entries. ... While the top 12 finishers from Friday's semifeature were locked into the main event, the rest of the semifeature finishers are locked into Saturday's B-main lineup. ... All other entrants will start consolation races based on their heat race finishes. ... Kevin Carlson of Hermantown, Minn., scratched from a pole start in his heat race. ... In the third heat, front-row starters Doug Herrick and John Henkemeyer got together at the outset, knocking them both out of the race. ... Justin Fegers was also an early retiree after hitting the wall later in the prelim.


(1) Jake Redetzke, (2) Adam Hensel, (3) A.J. Diemel, (4) Ryan Aho, (5) Brady Smith, (6) Tommy Waseleski Jr., (7) Kyle Peterlin, (8) Harry Hanson, (9) Marshall Fegers, (10) Jeff Provinzino, (11) Lance Matthees, (12) Darrell Nelson, (13) John Kaanta, (14) Terry Lillo, (15) Joel Cryderman, (16) Danny Young, (17) George Ledin Jr., (18) Kyle Gavel.

Heat race finishes

First heat: Jeff Provinzino, Tommy Waseleski Jr., Darrell Nelson, Gregg Hill, Danny Young, Steve Laursen, Todd Frank, Jay Kintner, Tim Carlson.

Second heat: A.J. Diemel, Lance Matthees, Harry Hanson, Brady Smith, Joel Cryderman, Travis Budisolavich, Matt Sorenson, Roger Paolo, Louis Cianni.

Third heat: Adam Hensel, Ryan Aho, Marshall Fegers, George Ledin Jr., Don Copp, Cory Jorgensen, Justin Fegers, John Henkemeyer, Doug Herrick.

Fourth heat: Kyle Peterlin, Jake Redetzke, John Kaanta, Terry Lillo, Eric Breeschoten, Kyle Gavel, Christopher Olson. Scratched: Kevin Carlson, Greg Ferris.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Redetzke, Hensel
Row 2: Diemel, Aho
Row 3: B. Smith, Waseleski
Row 4: Peterlin, Hanson
Row 5: M. Fegers, Provinzino
Row 6: Matthees, Nelson
Row 7: B-main transfers
Row 8: B-main transfers
Row 9: B-main transfers
Row 10: B-main transfers
Row 11: B-main transfers
Sponsor 1044
Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728