Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1010
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Tri-City Speedway

Bloomquist up front again in Tri-City prelims

July 15, 2011, 2:30 am
From series reports
Scott Bloomquist will start among the top four in the Battle at the Beach main event. (stlracingphotos.com)
Scott Bloomquist will start among the top four in the Battle at the Beach main event. (stlracingphotos.com)

GRANITE CITY, Ill. (July 14) – Fresh off a $20,000 Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series victory at Magnolia Motor Speedway in Columbus, Miss., two-time and defending series champion Scott Bloomquist of Mooresburg, Tenn., put himself in position to pick up another $20,000 payday Thursday night at Tri-City Speedway. | Video | Slideshow

Bloomquist, who dominated Saturday’s Clash at the Mag for his third consecutive Lucas Oil Series victory, posted a lap of 16.132 seconds to top 37 qualifiers during Thursday’s Battle at the Beach time trials at Tri-City and won the first of four heat races. He’ll start among the top four in Friday’s 100-lap main event at the 3/8-mile racetrack.

Thursday’s other heat race winners at the St. Louis-area racetrack were: Brian Birkhofer of Muscatine, Iowa; four-time series champ Earl Pearson Jr. of Jacksonville, Fla.; and Don O'Neal of Martinsville, Ind.

The four heat winners will redraw to determine the first two rows in Friday night's $20,000-to-win feature, which will mark the richest race in the track's history. Friday’s action will begin with two consolation races and will be capped off by the inaugural Battle at the Beach main event.

Heat race results

(15 laps; top four transfer to main event)

First heat: Scott Bloomquist, Jimmy Owens, Steve Francis, John Blankenship, Jared Landers, Wendell Wallace, Jason Feger, Jeffrey Sloan, Billy Laycock. Scratched: Jason McBride.

Second heat: Brian Birkhofer, Randy Korte, Dale McDowell, Tim Isenberg, Brad Neat, Ray Cook, Chris Brown, Rusty Griffaw, John Mason.

Third heat: Earl Pearson Jr., Brian Shirley, Billy Moyer, Tyler Reddick, Chad Zobrist, Billy Moyer Jr., Rodney Melvin, Mike Hammerle, Tommy Seets Jr.

Fourth heat: Don O'Neal, Steve Casebolt, Eric Wells, Chris Simpson, Bub McCool, Michael Kloos, Frank Heckenast Jr., Dewayne Kiefer, Steve Leach.

Qualifying results

First group

  1. Scott Bloomquist (0), Mooresburg, Tenn., 16.132
  2. Brian Birkhofer (15b), Muscatine, Iowa, 16.235
  3. John Blankenship (23), Williamson, W.Va., 16.275
  4. Randy Korte (00), Highland, Ill., 16.584
  5. Steve Francis (15), Ashland, Ky., 16.609
  6. Dale McDowell (17m), Rossville, Ga., 16.691
  7. Wendell Wallace (88), Batesville, Ark., 16.752
  8. Brad Neat (41), Dunnville, Ky., 16.753
  9. Jimmy Owens (20), Newport, Tenn., 16.786
  10. Tim Isenberg (9t), Marshfield, Wis., 16.816
  11. Jason McBride (77m), Carbondale, Ill., 16.871
  12. Ray Cook (53), Brasstown, N.C., 16.880
  13. Jared Landers (777), Batesville, Ark., 16.938
  14. Chris Brown (21), Houston, Texas, 17.089
  15. Jason Feger (25), Bloomington, Ill., 17.112
  16. John Mason (72), Millersburg, Ohio, 17.174
  17. Billy Laycock (82), Marine, Ill., 17.240
  18. Rusty Griffaw (16), Fetus, Mo., 17.255
  19. Jeffrey Sloan (7), West Frankfort, Ill., 17.512

Second group

  1. Tyler Reddick (11), Corning, Calif., 16.340
  2. Don O'Neal (71), Martinsville, Ind., 16.546
  3. Earl Pearson, Jr. (44), Jacksonville, Fla., 16.763
  4. Chris Simpson (32), Oxford, Iowa, 16.782
  5. Billy Moyer (21), Batesville, Ark., 16.785
  6. Steve Casebolt (c9), Richmond, Ind., 16.905
  7. Billy Moyer, Jr. (21jr), Batesville, Ark., 16.953
  8. Eric Wells (18), Hazard, Ky., 16.973
  9. Chad Zobrist (78), Highland, Ill., 17.022
  10. Bub McCool (57j), Vicksburg, Miss., 17.064
  11. Brian Shirley (3s), Chatham, Ill., 17.099
  12. Frank Heckenast, Jr. (99jr) Frankfort, Ill., 17.105
  13. Rodney Melvin (27), Benton, Ill., 17.228
  14. Michael Kloos (6k), Trenton, Ill., 17.237
  15. Mike Hammerle (16h), St. Charles, Mo., 17.273
  16. Dewayne Kiefer (0), St. Geneviene, Mo., 17.290
  17. Tommy Seets Jr. (16), Alton, Ill., 17.540
  18. Steve Leach (49), Staunton, Ill., 18.157

Feature lineup

Row 1: Set by draw
Row 2: Set by draw
Row 3: Owens, Shirley
Row 4: Korte, Casebolt
Row 5: Francis, Moyer
Row 6: McDowell, Simpson
Row 7: Blankenship, Reddick
Row 8: Isenberg, Wells
Row 9: Consolation transfers
Row 10: Consolation transfers
Row 11: Consolation transfers
Row 12: Provisional starters

Sponsor 1070
Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728