Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Order | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 605
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Hagerstown Speedway

Rookie scores first victory at Hagerstown

June 19, 2011, 8:23 am
From track reports
Kyle Lear (left) and his brother Cody notched June 18 victories at Hagerstown, Md. (wrtspeedwerx.com)
Kyle Lear (left) and his brother Cody notched June 18 victories at Hagerstown, Md. (wrtspeedwerx.com)

HAGERSTOWN, Md. (June 18) – Late Model rookie Kyle Lear of Severna Park, Md., raced to the first Super Late Model victory of his career Saturday night at Hagerstown Speedway after overtaking Marvin Winters of McConnellsburg, Pa., for the lead on lap nine of the 25-lap weekly racing event.

Winters opened a large lead after jumping out front on the start of the race, but Lear chased him down after moving to the second position on lap two and took control of the top spot on lap nine.

Lear later survived a lap-11 restart and navigated slower traffic in the closing laps as he pulled away from the field to score the victory over Winters and Frankie Plessinger of Big Cove Tannery, Pa. Jim Bernheisel Lebanon, Pa., and Ashley Barrett of Shippensburg, Pa., rounded out the top five finishers.

“The biggest thing is getting the bugs worked out of a new car that you’re not used to driving, getting it fined tuned,” Lear said of his success in his first Late Model season. “We went to some of the speedweek shows and worked on the car a lot. We had some driver errors but we’re getting better at that each week.”

Lear’s younger brother Cody won the night’s Late Model Sportsman feature. Hagerstown will host the Three State Flyers tour June 24 for the fourth annual Red Nininger Memorial.

Hagerstown: (1) Kyle Lear, (2) Marvin Winters, (3) Frankie Plessinger, (4) Jim Bernheisel, (5) Ashley Barrett, (6) Alan Sagi, (7) Roy Deese Jr., (8) Duane Harbaugh, (9) Brian Booze, (10) Tyler Hershey, (11) Jerry Bard, (12) Steve Axtell Jr., (13) Wesley Bonebrake, (14) Scott LeBarron, (15) Matt Murphy, (16) Brent Smith, (17) Jason Miller, (18) Larry Baker III, (19) Tim Murphy, (20) Chuck Lewis, (21) Bo Feathers, (22) Lindsay Barton, (23) Denny Bonebrake. Heat race winners: Barrett, Bernheisel, Lear.

Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728