Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1031
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Springfield Raceway

Wells carves up Turkey Classic field at Springfield

November 28, 2010, 7:42 am
From correspondent reports
Justin Wells (98) moves into the lead over Ken Essary (55). (stlracingphotos.com)
Justin Wells (98) moves into the lead over Ken Essary (55). (stlracingphotos.com)

SPRINGFIELD, Mo. (Nov. 27) — Sixth-starting Justin Wells of Aurora, Mo., dominated the fourth annual Bad Boy Mowers Turkey Classic on Saturday, capturing the Late Model portion of Springfield Raceway's season-ending event for the second straight year. Wells, who took the lead from mentor Ken Essary of Cape Fair, Mo., on the sixth lap, earned $2,000 for the unsanctioned victory. | Slideshow

Jack Sullivan of Greenbrier, Ark., finished second followed by Jesse Stovall of Galena, Mo., who took the third spot from Essary on the final lap. John Anderson of Omaha, Neb., rounded out the top five finishers.

"This was a tough field of cars and the only thing that didn't go right was our redraw," said Wells, who drew the outside third-row starting spot. "And that even worked good, because coming through the field, I found several different racing lanes which helped me through the lapped traffic.

Essary led from the outset over polesitter Rylan Long with Chris Morelock, Chuck Comer, Sullivan and Wells giving chase. Wells moved up to second following the race's lone caution on the third lap, and he made his winning move on the sixth circuit.

With Wells pulling away to a big lead, Sullivan won the second-place duel with Essary and vainly tried to catch the leader.

Notes: Wells drives a TNT Race Car sponsored by Bentonville Plastics and Tradewinds Express. ... The race drew 34 Late Models for an event that drew more a record 189 race cars among four divisions. ... Among drivers failing to make the Late Model main event: Mike Hammerle, Tony Jackson Jr., and Jeff McGhee.

Bad Boy Mowers Turkey Classic: (1) Justin Wells, (2) Jack Sullivan, (3) Jesse Stovall, (4) Ken Essary, (5) John Anderson, (6) Alan Vaughn, (7) John Beck, (8) Rylan Long, (9) Chris Morelock, (10) Shane Essary, (11) Joey Mack, (12) Don Black, (13) Shawn Lee, (14) Jerry Morgan, (15) Chuck Comer, (16) Leslie Essary, (17) Ron McQuerry, (18) Bruce Unterbrink, (19) Scott Fry, (20) Larry Jones. Heat race winners (among 34 cars): Long, Anderson, Wells, K. Essary. Consolation winners: Mack, Black.

Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728