Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Order | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 886
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Junction Motor Speedway

Boen completes sweep at King of the Hill Shootout

August 16, 2010, 7:59 am
From series reports

McCOOL JUNCTION, Neb. (Aug. 14) — Celebrating the 27th anniversary of his first feature victory, 46-year-old Kelly Boen of Henderson, Colo., completed a sweep of Junction Motor Speedway's King of the Hill Shootout on Saturday for a $3,000 payday. Boen's victory was co-sanctioned by the O'Reilly National Championship Racing Association and Lucas Oil Midwest LateModel Racing Association.

John Anderson of Omaha, Neb., finished second in a new MasterSbilt Race Car while Kyle Berck of Marquette, Neb. — who won the night's modified feature — was third. Travis Dickes of Madison, Neb., Al Purkey of Coffeyville, Kan., rounded out the top five.

Two top runners fell from contention. Brad Looney of Republic, Mo., retired with engine problems while running second with five laps remaining. And Mike Wiarda of Aurora, Neb., was running third when jumped the cushion on the 10th lap to draw a yellow.

Boen, who also captured Friday's weekend opener at Junction, won 11th race in the last 20 Super Late Model events at the 3/8-mile oval.

The most serious incident of the race was a mid-race, multi-car accident that drew a red flag. Andrew Kosiski's car flipped in the melee, but he walked away without serious injury.

King of the Hill Shootout: (1) Kelly Boen, (2) John Anderson, (3) Kyle Berck, (4) Travis Dickes, (5) Al Purkey, (6) Jason O'Brien, (7) Joe Kosiski, (8) Chris Spieker, (9) Bryant Goldsmith, (10) Delbert Smith, (11) Jerry Warner, (12) Dave Eckrich, (13) J.D. Hubert, (14) Jase Kaser, (15) Billy Koons Jr., (16) Dean Moore, (17) Bill Koons, (18) Brad Looney, (19) Mike Wiarda, (20) Corey Zeitner, (21) Justin Asplin, (22) Dustin Hapka, (23) Andrew Kosiski, (24) Al Humphrey. Heat race winners (among 32 cars): Anderson, Looney, Wiarda, Boen. Consolation winners: Bill Koons, Eckrich.

MLRA points

(Through Aug. 14)
1. Al Purkey - 840
2. Dave Eckrich - 820
3. Brad Looney - 798
4. Terry Phillips - 699
5. Joe Kosiski - 681

NCRA points

(Through Aug. 14)
1. Kelly Boen - 4,755
2. Corey Zeitner - 4,395
3. Jase Kaser - 4,160
4. Al Purkey - 3,540
5. Wylan Petrie - 3,335
Sponsor 985
Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728