Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1144
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Bristol Motor Speedway

Aiming for 30 races, IRS schedules 19 so far

November 27, 2007, 1:41 pm
From series reports

Looking toward its second season, the Ohio-based Independent Racing Series has announced a preliminary schedule for 2008 that includes at least five new tracks. The initial schedule includes 19 confirmed race dates with most events paying $5,000 to the winner.

“It’s been a task, but we started working on this schedule before last season was over,” said series founder and president Dean Miracle. “We are looking to double last year’s number of races and this schedule is nowhere near completed yet. We will continually update our schedule as tracks are added."

Last year's IRS schedule was made up of 15 races with 14 different winners, including series champion Rick Aukland, who won the series finale. A total of 319 drivers from 12 states competed in IRS action last year.

The 2008 schedule includes 11 of the 14 tracks from last year's campaign. Among the new tracks on the 2008 schedule: 201 Speedway in Sitka, Ky.; Midway Speedway in Crooksville, Ohio; Ponderosa Speedway in Junction City, Ky.; and Bluegrass Speedway in Bardstown, Ky.

For more information, visit the series website or call Miracle at (419) 425-3929 or (419) 306-1499.

2008 Independent Racing Series schedule

Date, track, location, winning purse
April 18, Hilltop Speedway, Millersburg, Ohio, $5,000
May 2, Elkins (W.Va.) Motor Speedway, $5,000
May 10, 201 Speedway, Sitka, Ky., $5,000
May 17, Stateline Speedway, Busti, N.Y., $5,000
May 23, Raceway 7, Conneaut, Ohio, $5,000
May 24, Muskingum County Speedway, Zanesville, Ohio, $5,000
May 25, Cannonball Motor Speedway, St. Clairsville, Ohio, $5,000
May 26, Midway Speedway, Crooksville, Ohio, $5,000
May 30, Skyline Speedway, Stewart, Ohio, $5,000
June 13, Rocky Top Raceway, Coal Grove, Ohio, $5,000
June 14, Portsmouth (Ohio) Raceway Park$5,000
June 20, Elkins (W.Va.) Motor Speedway, $5,000
June 21, Tyler County Speedway, Middlebourne, W.Va., $5,000
July 3, K-C Raceway, Chillicothe, Ohio, $5,000
July 4, Hilltop Speedway, Millersburg, Ohio, $5,000
July 5, Midway Speedway, Crooksville, Ohio, $5,000
July 19, Stateline Speedway, Busti, N.Y., $5,000
July 25, Elkins Motor Speedway, Elkins, W.Va., $5,000
Aug. 1, Ponderosa Speedway, Junction City, Ky., $5,000
Aug. 2, Bluegrass Speedway, Bardstown, Ky., $5,000
Aug. 30, Cannonball Motor Speedway, St. Clairsville, Ohio, $5,000
Sept. 12, Winchester (Va.) Speedway, $5,000
Sept. 13, Hagerstown (Md.) Speedway, TBA
Sept. 19, Elkins (W.Va.) Motor Speedway, $5,000
Update: Schedule updated with five new races announced Dec. 4.
Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728