Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Order | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1120
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Brown County Speedway

Matthees captures $3,000 Brown County victory

July 10, 2010, 7:39 am
From series reports
Lance Matthees heads for victory. (crpphotos.com)
Lance Matthees heads for victory. (crpphotos.com)

ABERDEEN, S.D. (July 9) — Polesitter Lance Matthees of Winona, Minn., raced to his seventh career series victory Friday at Brown County Speedway on the Dart Challenge Series. Matthees earned $3,000 for the WISSOTA-sanctioned victory at the 3/8-mile oval. | Slideshow

Former track champion and hometown driver Kent Arment was second followed by 13th-starting David McDonald of Huron, S.D. Veterans Steve Laursen of Cumberland, Wis., and Jeff Wildung of Nassau, Minn., rounded out the top five in a race slowed by a single caution for Joe Waba’s stalled car on the second lap.

Don Shaw of Ham Lake, Minn., finished seventh to regain the points lead from John Kaanta of Elk Mound, Wis., who ended up 12th.

Notes: Matthees drives a Rocket Chassis sponsored by Wilson Race Fuels, Tim Logan Racing and Yaggy Transportation. ... Matthees picked up $100 pole dash from Joe Provo Racewear for winning the pole dash. ... David McDonald’s hard charger honors gave him a $100 product certificate from Lou Fegers Racing Equipment. ... Curt Gelling picked up a $250 product certificate from Keizer Aluminum Wheels. ... Series leader Don Shaw has a five-point edge on John Kaanta. Matthees is nine points back and Jake Redetzke is 19 points behind. ... Next up is a western swing on July 29-31 with $3,000-to-win events at Electric City Speedway in Great Falls, Mont., Gallatin Speedway in Belgrade, Mont.; and Gillette (Wyo.) Thunder Speedway.

Dart Challenge @ Brown County: (1) Lance Matthees, (2) Kent Arment, (3) David McDonald, (4) Steve Laursen, (5) Jeff Wildung, (6) Jake Redetzke, (7) Don Shaw, (8) Curt Gelling, (9) Joel Cryderman, (10) Chad Chenoweth, (11) Kyle Peterlin, (12) John Kaanta, (13) John Bey, (14) Don Copp, (15) Shawn Malsam, (16) Paul Mueller, (17) Pat Weisgram, (18) Doug Herrick, (19) Jason Fritzshe, (20) Dave Thomas, (21) Chad Becker, (22) Duffy Froemke, (23) Seth Brede, (24) Chuck Swenson, (25) Travis Budisalovich, (26) Joe Waba. Scratched: Rich Thomas. Heat race winners (among 27 cars): Arment, Wildung, Shaw. Dash winner: Matthees.

Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728