Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1170
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Springfield Raceway

Phillips captures father's race amid Frye-Payne tangle

October 25, 2009, 6:08 am
From track reports
Terry Phillips raises a triumphant fist at Springfied. (cbracephotos.com)
Terry Phillips raises a triumphant fist at Springfied. (cbracephotos.com)

SPRINGFIELD, Mo. (Oct. 24) — Winning a race honoring his late father, polesitter Terry Phillips of Springfield, Mo., earned $2,575 in capturing the unsanctioned Larry Phillips Memorial at Springfield Raceway in a race spiced by a Jeremy Payne-Bill Frye clash. | Slideshow

Phillips and Frye battled out front early, swapping the top spot before Phillips took control following a lap-17 caution, the only yellow of the race, and led the rest of the way.

Frye, of Greenbrier, Ark., and Payne, of Springfield, battled for second late in the race with Payne making contact with Frye heading for the checkered flag, spinning Frye's No. 66 in turn four. Payne crossed the finish line in second but was dropped to the tail of the order for rough driving. Frye, likewise, was placed last in the 20-car field for retaliating against Payne after the race.

That moved Brad Looney of Republic, Mo., up to second with Justin Wells of Aurora, Mo., third in the racing honoring a five-time NASCAR Weekly Racing Series champion and one of short-track racing's winningest drivers. Eric Turner of Springfield finished fourth and Tony Jackson Jr. of Lebanon, Mo., rounded out the top five. Seventeen of 20 starters were running at the conclusion of the 35-lapper.

Larry Phillips Memorial: (1) Terry Phillips, (2) Brad Looney, (3) Justin Wells, (4) Eric Turner 5) Tony Jackson Jr., (6) Ken Essary, (7) Larry Campbell, (8) Brandon McCormick, (9) Shane Essary, (10) Mike Harris, (11) Eddie Dixon, (12) John Beck, (13) Darrell Mooneyham, (14) Rylan Long, (15) Chuck Comer, (16) Rex Merritt, (17) Bobby Maggard Jr., (18) Rick Lebow, (19) Jeremy Payne, (20) Bill Frye. Heat race winners (among 40 cars): Wells, Frye, Phillips, Beck, McCormick. Consolation winners: Harris, Comer.

Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728