Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1144
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Bristol Motor Speedway

Wall wins MSCC finale while Ashley grabs title

October 15, 2007, 10:32 am
From track and series reports

MERIDIAN, Miss. (Oct. 13) — Nearly losing control and dropping from first to fourth on lap 16, Chris Wall of Holden, La., raced back to the front and outdueled Scott Slay for a Mississippi State Championship Series victory at Whynot Motorsports Park. He earned $3,000 for the 50-lap victory.

"I just drove into turn one a little too hard and got loose in two," Wall said. "After I regained control, I still thought I had a chance."

Slay took the lead after Wall's miscue, but David Ashley went out front five laps later. Slay continued to hound Ashley, pulling alongside on lap 28. Wall made it a three-car battle for the lead by lap 32.

Slay ran ahead of Wall and Ashley on lap 33, but Wall persisted and caught Slay on lap 37. Wall took the point for good on lap 40. Ashley finished second to clinch the MSCC championship while Slay settled for third.

Louisiana Patrick Mitchell got upside down in a multicar pileup on the frontstretch, but he wasn't injured. — From track reports

Whynot Motorsports Park: (1) Chris Wall, (2) David Ashley, (3) Scott Slay, (4) Neil Baggett, (5) Chris McElhenney, (6) Jimmy Cliburn, (7) Kennith Crowe, (8) Steve Bryan, (9) Anthony Rushing, (10) Scott Creel, (11) Shawn Edwards, (12) Wiley Williams, (13) James Ward, (14) Jim McDuffie, (15) Jason Sanderford, (16) Devin Jones, (17) Billy McDonald, (18) Jack Daughtry, (19) Chad Thrash, (20) Patrick Mitchell, (21) David Breazeale, (22) Jason Cliburn, (23) Jeremy Broadus, (24) Stacy Caldwell.

Jason Ingalls gets SUPR victory in Houston

Starting fifth at Houston Raceway Park, Jason Ingalls of Longview, Texas, defended his state's home turf with a $2,500 victory on the O'Reilly Southern United Professional Racing circuit. Polesitter Allen Tippen settled for second with Ronny Adams, Kyle Cummings and Lee Davis rounding out the top five in the second-to-last SUPR event of 2007. Series champion Ray Moore finished ninth. — From series reports

Houston Raceway Park: (1) Jason Ingalls, (2) Allen Tippen, (3) Ronny Adams, (4) Kyle Cummings, (5) Lee Davis, (6) Douglas Begnaud, (7) Doug Ingalls, (8) Kenny Merchant, (9) Doug Ivey, (10) Ray Moore, (11) Robbie Stuart, (12) Kyle Anderson, (13) Howard Willis, (14) Ryan Fontenot, (15) Devane Hillman, (16) Wayman McMillan, (17) Woody Weaver, (18) Jack Ambern, (19) Mike Orlando, (20) Rob Litton, (21) Brock Williams, (22) Billy Melton, (23) Herschel Cronin, (24) Brad Dixon, (25) Brian Stipe, (26) Jayson England.

Marlar, Johnson, Neat get unsanctioned victories

In other Oct. 13 action, Mike Marlar pocketed $5,000 for a victory at Lake Cumberland Speedway in Burnside, Ky. ... Ronnie Johnson of Chattanooga, Tenn., who started 16th, overtook Shane Tankersley late in a $3,000-to-win race at North Georgia Speedway in Chatsworth, Ga. ... Brad Neat of Dunnville, Ky., made a last lap pass of Aaron Hatton at Ponderosa Speedway in Junction City, Ky., for a $3,000 payday. Weekly results.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728