Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 257
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Moulton Speedway

McCool takes victory in Bama Brawl opener

October 13, 2007, 10:12 am
From track reports
Bub McCool's Oct. 12 victory. (Sherry Kizer)
Bub McCool's Oct. 12 victory. (Sherry Kizer)

MOULTON, Ala. (Oct. 12) — Starting outside the front row, Bub McCool of Vicksburg, Miss., won a 2007 race with his third different sanctioning body as he captured the first night of the Bama Brawl at Moulton Speedway. McCool earned $1,500 for the Arkansas Motorsports Professionals series victory in the weekend opener. Saturday's $5,000-to-win finale is sanctioned by the Southern Regional Racing Series.

Former track champion Mark Mears of Decatur, Ala., finished second ahead of fellow Decatur driver Brandon King, David Gentry of Lewisburg, Tenn., and Danny Peoples of Margaret, Ala.

Fast qualifier and polesitter Jerry Owens pulled off the track after contact and Gentry, who ran as high as second, dropped back when he slipped off the backstretch.


McCool's previous sanctioned victories have come on the Mississippi State Championship Challenge and the O'Reilly Southern United Professional Racing tour. ... Jerry Owens' fast qualifying time was 14.21 seconds. ... Tony Morris, Josh Putnam and Jon Miller won consolation races. ... Track champion Chris Ragan appeared to have one of the fastest cars in the main event but took a wild ride off the backstretch. ... Another driver taking a wild ride was Billy Moyer Jr., whose car rolled in a backstretch accident. He returned to start the feature in a borrowed car. ... Rodney Weaver won the night's Late Model Stock feature.

Bama Brawl: (1) Bub McCool, (2) Mark Mears, (3) Brandon King, (4) David Gentry, (5) Danny Peoples, (6) Anthony Burroughs, (7) Tony Morris, (8) Billy Mayo, (9) Danny Christian, (10) Stacy Taylor, (11) Matt Wilson, (12) Clay Fisher, (13) Billy Peden, (14) Joseph Long, (15) Chris Ragan, (16) Jerry Owens, (17) Jon Miller, (18) Kyle Beard, (19) Jon Mitchell, (20) Josh Putnam, (21) Eric Hickerson, (22) Mark Fields, (23) Jamie Flannigan, (24) Billy Moyer Jr.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728