Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1144
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Hibbing Raceway

Peterlin tops Hanson, Doar at Governor's Cup

June 24, 2009, 5:21 pm
By Greg Anderson
Hibbing Raceway

HIBBING, Minn. (June 19-20) — Hometown driver and track points leader Kyle Peterlin made a third-to-first move before the halfway point of the inaugural Governor's Cup at Hibbing Raceway and rolled to a $3,500 victory in the WISSOTA Late Model special.

Harry Hanson of Eveleth, Minn., took the early lead in the feature with Pat Doar of New Richmond, Wis., joining him for a two-car breakaway in the opening laps. While they battled up front, Peterlin began making up ground in the high groove and pulled to within a few lengths of the frontrunners. Peterlin stuck with high groove and, in a flash, raced into the lead.

A turn-two spin brought out a caution early in the second half of the race, and passing became difficult with Peterlin eventually pulling away for a comfortable lead. Doar stayed glued to Hanson's rear bumper and squeezed past to take second with three laps remaining, but it was too late to catch Peterlin. John Massingill of Keeweatin, Minn, was fourth and Steve Laursen of Cumberland, Wis., rounded out the top five.

Notes: Peterlin is sponsored by Town & Country Garages & Cabins, Wagamon Bros., Provinzino Race Cars, Cobb Cook Grocery, Great Northern Lending and Iron Trail Motors. ... Peterlin stands second in WISSOTA weekly points behind Jeff Provinzino. ... Peterlin notched his second victory of the season two nights after winning at Grand Rapids (Minn.) Speedway. ... The first-ever Governor's Cup drew 145 race teams among four divisions. ... Rain delayed Friday's action but the program was completed following a city-wide fireworks show. ... Kelly Estey of Kelly Lake, Minn., won the modified feature. ... Hibbing's 33rd annual Labor Day Shootout is the next major Late Model special at the track on Sept. 5-6. Saturday's event is sanctioned by the WISSOTA-sanctioned Dart Late Model Series.

Governor's Cup: (1) Kyle Peterlin, (2) Pat Doar, (3) Harry Hanson, (4) John Massingill, (5) Steve Laursen, (6) Jeff Provinzino, (7) Darrell Nelson, (8) Bob Reed, (9) Danny Young, (10) Paul Parker, (11) Lance Matthees, (12) Tom Waseleski, (13) Kevin Carlson, (14) Don Copp, (15) John Henkemeyer, (16) Caley Emerson, (17) Travis Budasalovich, (18) Roger Paolo, (19) Dave Esee, (20) Todd Gehl, (21) Mike Waseleski, (22) Joel Cryderman, (23) Tim McMann, (24) Bobby Carlson. Heat race winners: Peterlin, Hanson, Provinzino, Massingill.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728