Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Order | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1023
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

West Liberty Raceway

Dave Eckrich wins Liberty 100; Harris seriously injured

September 24, 2007, 12:39 pm
From track, staff and correspondent reports

WEST LIBERTY, Iowa (Sept. 21-22) — Taking the lead after Brian Harris was seriously injured in a lap-65 crash, Dave Eckrich of Cosgrove, Iowa, led the remainder of the Liberty 100 at West Liberty Raceway for an unsanctioned victory worth $7,000. Eckrich crossed the finish line ahead of Chris Simpson, Jason Utter, Curt Martin and Tommy Elston.

The race was marred by the accident that saw Harris slam driver's-side first into the backstretch wall while trying to overtake a lapped car. It took emergency personnel several minutes to stablize and remove Harris, who was knocked unconscious by the impact. Harris was treated at the University of Iowa Hospital and his injuries included a severe concussion, a hairline fracture of his C2 vertebrae and a sore left arm. | Brian Harris updates


Rain on Friday pushed back much of the weekend's events to Saturday. ... Matt Furman won the Race of Champions over Andy Eckrich, Denny Eckrich, Brian Harris, Jason Utter, Chad Simpson, Dave Eckrich, Jeremiah Hurst, Kurt Kile and Chris Simpson. ... Matt Gilchrist won the Limited Late Model feature.

Liberty 100: (1) Dave Eckrich, (2) Chris Simpson (3) Jason Utter, (4) Curt Martin, (5) Tommy Elston, (6) Mike Klinkhammer, (7) Ron Boyse, (8) Nick Marolf, (9) Todd Davis, (10) Chad Simpson, (11) Jeremy Grady, (12) Matt Furman, (13) Kurt Kile, (14) Matt Gilchrist, (15) Brian Harris, (16) Ed Nelson, (17) Jay Johnson, (18) Andy Eckrich, (19) Denny Eckrich, (20) Jeremiah Hurst, (21) Kevin Kile, (22) Darin Duffy, (23) Fred Remley, (24) Rob Moss.

Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728