Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Order | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 930
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Hesston Speedway

Myers rallies from ninth, earns $5,000 at Hesston

July 28, 2008, 9:28 am
From track reports
Myers collected $5,000. (www.pbase.com/cyberslash)
Myers collected $5,000. (www.pbase.com/cyberslash)

HESSTON, Pa. (July 27) — Ninth-starting D.J. Myers of Greencastle, Pa., overtook race-long leader Nick Dickson of Strodes Mills, Pa., following a restart on the 22nd lap and led the rest of the unsanctioned Thunder by the Lake 50 at Hesston Speedway. Myers earned $5,000. | Slideshow

Coleby Frye and Dickson started on the front row with Dickson taking command early over Frye, Bo Feathers of Winchester, Va., Andy Anderson of Martinsburg, W.Va., and Jack Pencil of Bedford, Pa. Feathers moved into second on the 14th lap and began to reel in Dickson while Myers and 23rd-starting Alex Ferree of Saxonburg, Pa., were working toward the front. The frontrunners entered lapped traffic on lap 18 and things tightened up before a lap-20 caution bunched the field. Feathers had to pit with a flat tire, moving Myers into second for the restart.

Dickson restart up front, but Myers moved to the outside groove and took the lead on the 22nd lap. Myers was ahead at the halfway mark over Dickson, Frye, Mike Altobelli Jr. and Anderson. Altobelli took third from Frye on the 30th lap and a caution eight laps later for a slowing Jared Miley reset the field for the final 12 laps. Myers stayed in charge the rest of the way for the victory while Altobelli dropped off the pace with two laps remaining. Dickson crossed the finish line second ahead of Pencil, Ferree and Frye.

Notes: Myers drove a new PPM Chassis sponsored by Gunter's Honey and Performance Auto Works. ... Myers won the previous night at Thunder Valley Raceway in Central City, Pa., and ran a handful of O'Reilly Southern Nationals races over the previous two weeks. ... Drivers failing to qualify for the feature: Rance Garlock, Jim Stine, Shawn Claar, Jason Covert, Khi Swanger, Tom Decker Jr., Mike Altobelli Sr., Tim Fedder, Matt Parks, Dylan Yoder, Tim Gray, Jake Shady, Tom Barron, Robbie Garlock, Devin Friese, Mike Steck and Justin Kann. ... The next Super Late Model special at Hesston is Aug. 30 with a visit from the Mid-Atlantic Championship Series.

Thunder by the Lake 50: (1) D.J. Myers, (2) Nick Dickson, (3)� Jack Pencil, (4) Alex Ferree, (5) Coleby Frye, (6) Andy Anderson, (7) Jim Bernheisel, (8) Bo Feathers, (9) Alan Sagi, (10) Waylon Wagner, (11) Chris Harr, (12) Scott Lebarron, (13) Mike Shoemaker, (14) Chuck Clise, (15) Scott Richwine, (16) Dwayne Taneyhill, (17) Steve Everhart, (18) Derek Byler, (19) Mike Altobelli Jr., (20) Shawn Bilger, (21) Jared Miley, (22) Jim Yoder, (23) Billy Wampler. Scratched: Jeremy Miller. Heat race winners (among 41 cars): Miller, Frye, Anderson, Myers, Bilger. Consolation winners: Everhart, Sagi.

Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728