Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Order | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 886
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Greenville Speedway

Merchant's SUPR slip helps Moore win at Greenville

July 20, 2008, 5:59 pm
From series reports

GREENVILLE, Miss. (July 19) — Reigning series champion Ray Moore of Shreveport, La., grabbed his first O'Reilly Southern United Professional Racing victory of 2008 by leading the last 31 laps at Greenville Speedway. The ninth-starting Moore earned $2,500 for his first SUPR victory since June 2007 and eighth of his career.

Polesitter Kenny Merchant of West Monroe, La., who led the first 11 laps before slipping over the track's banking in turns one and two, rallied back to finish second in the 50-lap main event ahead of 11th-starting Kyle Cummings of Minden, La. Leading SUPR rookie Kevin Sitton of Baytown, Texas, who led laps 12-19, was fourth and Terry Henson of West Memphis, Ark., rounded out the top five finishers.

Merchant, who is one victory shy of becoming SUPR's all-time winningest driver, set sail at the outset, but the leader ran into trouble when he slipped off the track after 11 laps. A yellow appeared and Merchant rejoined the race on the tail while the sixth-starting Sitton inherited the lead. Sitton stayed out front eight laps before Moore took command and maintained a pace that put several competitors in the 25-car field a lap down.

Meanwhile, Merchant put on a driving exhibition in racing from the tail, getting up to the second spot before a late-race caution. But Moore's cushion of a half-dozen lapped cars was enough to keep Merchant from making a serious challenge on the final restart.

The Greenville event was co-sanctioned by the Arkansas Motorsports Professionals. The next O'Reilly SUPR event is scheduled for July 26 at Houston Raceway Park in Baytown, Texas.

O'Reilly SUPR @ Greenville: (1) Ray Moore, (2) Kenny Merchant, (3) Kyle Cummings, (4) Kevin Sitton, (5) Terry Henson, (6) Nicholas Brown, (7) Jon Mitchell, (8) Jeff Chanler, (9) Jeff Wells Jr., (10) Devane Hillman, (11) Allen Tippen, (12) Doug Showan, (13) Gary Scott Christian, (14) Mike McNay, (15) Charles Fore, (16) Clay Fisher, (17) Jamie Elam, (18) Charlie Cole, (19) Andy Hockenhull, (20) Ross Camponovo, (21) Mark Tice, (22) Chad Washington, (23) Wayne Skinner, (24) Mike Downing, (25) Terry Thedford. Heat race winners (among 25 cars): Mitchell, Merchant, Henson.

Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728