Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 257
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

DirtonDirt.com exclusive

Dirt Late Model Silly Season roundup

December 1, 2018, 12:16 pm
From staff reports

A roundup of off-season news among drivers switching teams and other 2019 planned changes among tracks, series and promoters:


Best Performance Motorsports: The St. Marys, Ohio-based team hires Tyler Erb of New Waverly, Texas; Josh Richards left the team after two seasons, including the 2017 Lucas Oil title campaign.

Blount Motorsports: The Larry Garner-owned team based in Maryville, Tenn., revealed during the PRI Trade Show in Indianapolis that Donald McIntosh of Dawsonville, Ga., is returning as the operation's full-time driver after a one-year hiatus. Casey Roberts of Toccoa, Ga., who filled the team's seat for 2018 after McIntosh ended his three-year run with Blount, was dismissed after a two-victory season.

Bruening Rock Products Racing: Greg Bruening adds a national touring team to his son Tyler’s regional team, hiring driver Chris Madden of Gray Court, S.C., in a team supported by Georgia’s Capital Race Cars.

Clint Bowyer Racing: The Clemmons, N.C.-based team of the NASCAR star hires Josh Richards of Shinnston, W.Va., to replace Darrell Lanigan, who competed with CBR for three seasons.

Club 29 Racing: Darrell Lanigan of Union, Ky., after splitting with Bowyer, plans to revive his own team with Club 29 Race Cars going it alone.

Dunn Benson Motorsports: The North Carolina-based team hires Devin Moran and his brother Wylie to compete on the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series. Moran replaces Bobby Pierce, the Oakwood, Ill., driver who returned to his family-owned operation. Moran still plans part-time starts with previous car owner Tye Twarog.

K&L Rumley Enterprises: The North Carolina-based team revives after two dormant seasons with Mike Marlar of Winfield, Tenn., behind the wheel. Jonathan Davenport was the team’s previous driver (through 2016).

Rum Runner Racing: The Joey Coulter family-owned team in Concord, N.C., hires Brandon Overton of Evans, Ga., the field the No. 2; Coulter will compete on a part-time basis.

Stone-Weaver Racing: The Crossville, Tenn.-based team of Chip Stone and Randy Weaver chooses Tanner English of Benton, Ky., to field the team’s No. 116 cars. The team split with Brandon Overton at mid-season.


All-Tech Raceway: The Ellisville, Fla., oval becomes third track with Shootout miniseries races for 2019, joining Georgia’s Golden Isles Speedway and Waycross Motor Speedway.

East Alabama Motor Speedway: The Phenix City oval reschedules its 44th annual National 100 for late January after weather postpones the November event.

Fairbury American Legion Speedway: Matt Curl resigns as WoO director to take over primary ownership of quarter-mile Illinois oval; Curl announced the track will pay $2,500-to-win for weekly Late Model events.

Freedom Motorsports Park: The Delevan, N.Y., racetrack will run Super Late Models as elite division in 2019.

Fremont Speedway: The northern Ohio oval drops its Limited Late Model division.

Grandview Speedway: The Bechtelsville, Pa., oval announced in December it was dropping its Late Model division in 2019.

Jackson County Speedway: Jackson, Ohio, oval is closed for good after new owners change business direction.

McKean County Raceway: Full Circle Productions ends run as promoters in East Smethport, Pa., after a single season.

Patriots Park Raceway: The newly reopened Dublin, Ga., track will host Fastrak-sanctioned Crate Late Models.

Richmond Raceway: The Bill Lupinos-owned track in central Kentucky announced plans to institute a regular Crate Late Model division.

Schaeffer’s Fall Nationals: Series promoter Ray Cook renames his Bonus Series, refocusing it on autumn for 2019.

Ultimate Heart of America Series: The Battle of the Bluegrass tour is renamed and branches out to neighboring states.

Warrior Race Cars: Longtime employee Michael Nuchols takes reins from co-founder Sanford Goddard.

World of Outlaws Craftsman Late Model Series: Matt Curl resigns as series director to take over primary ownership of Fairbury (Ill.) American Legion Speedway; no replacement has been named.

Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728