Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Order | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1120
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Clarksville Speedway

Erb picks up another $10,000 with Clarksville win

July 20, 2008, 5:03 am
From track reports
Dennis Erb Jr. collects his hardware. (kohlsracingphotos.com)
Dennis Erb Jr. collects his hardware. (kohlsracingphotos.com)

CLARKSVILLE, Tenn. (July 19) — Dennis Erb Jr. of Carpentersville, Ill., already clinched the $25,000 championship on the UMP DIRTcar Summernationals, but he's still raking in the money. A week after the points wrapped up on the month-long tour, Erb won his first-ever feature at StormPay.com Speedway in the first rain makeup on the tour, earning $10,000 for taking the checkered flag over Wes Steidinger of Fairbury, Ill. Rodney Melvin of Benton, Ill., finished third in the main event followed by Kevin Claycomb of Vincennes, Ind., and Terry English of Benton, Ky. | Slideshow

Each of the top five finishers except Melvin were Summernationals race winners in 2008. Polesitter Clayton Miller of Elkton, Ky., who started alongside Erb, faded to finish sixth. Former Summernationals champion Scott Bloomquist of Mooresburg, Tenn., was among drivers who failed to make the feature event.

UMP @ Clarksville: (1) Dennis Erb Jr., (2) Wes Steidinger, (3) Rodney Melvin, (4) Kevin Claycomb, (5) Terry English, (6) Clayton Miller, (7) Billy James, (8) Tony Albright, (9) Perry Delaney, (10) Jeff Walston, (11) Jason McBride, (12) Steven Ashby, (13) Lee Devasier, (14) Carnell Parker III, (15) Chuck Proctor, (16) Chris Shelton, (17) Gary Johnson, (18) Gil Smith, (19) Brent Kreke, (20) Caleb Ashby, (21) Fred Perry. Heat race winners (among 35 cars): Steidinger, Miller, Erb, English. Consolation winners: Devasier, Albright.

Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728