Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Order | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 886
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Swainsboro Raceway

Madden nips Wood for last-lap Swainsboro win

July 18, 2008, 11:59 pm
From series reports

SWAINSBORO, Ga. (July 18) — Chris Madden of Gray Court, S.C., kept up his hot streak on the O'Reilly Southern Nationals Series by overtaking teenager Dillon Wood of New Smyrna Beach, Fla., on the last of 53 laps at Swainsboro Raceway. The seventh-starting Madden, who won his third series race in four 2008 races, earned $5,300 for the victory in leading only the final lap.

Wood, who started 10th and led laps 35-52, settled for second but earned his richest career Late Model payday with $2,500. Dennis Franklin of Gaffney, S.C., who entered the race with a two-point series lead on Madden, was third after started eighth while front-row starters Brent Dixon of Elberton, Ga., and Brandon Kinzer of Allen, Ky., rounded out the top five. Bob Robertson of Evans, Ga., rallied from 19th to finish sixth.

Madden's victory is his fifth in the last six series races going back to last season.

Notes: Madden's Bloomquist Race Car is sponsored by Xtreme Customs & Cycles, Henderson Amusements and Hamrick's of Gaffney. ... Third-starting Ed Basey of Evans, Ga., was the race's first dropout. ... Brandon Kinzer was the first to outran Chris Madden in qualifying on the 2008 tour. ... Among drivers failing to make the feature lineup: Dion Deason, Travis Pennington and Monk Gulledge. ... The next series race is Saturday, July 19, at Screven Motor Speedway in Sylvania, Ga. The feature winner collects $5,300.

Southern Nationals @ Swainsboro: (1) Chris Madden, (2) Dillon Wood, (3) Dennis Franklin, (4) Brent Dixon, (5) Brandon Kinzer, (6) Bob Robertson, (7) Shon Flanary, (8) Brian Booze, (9) Tony Knowles, (10) John Henderson, (11) Ethan Hunter, (12) Chesley Dixon, (13) Frankie Beard, (14) James Cline, (15) Scott Shirey, (16) Michael Akeson, (17) Jeff Fortner, (18) Jeremy Faircloth, (19) Randle Chupp, (20) Ronny Lee Hollingsworth, (21) Ben Faircloth, (22) Shane Riner, (23) Casey Roberts, (24) Ed Basey. Fast qualifier (among 34 cars): Kinzer, 15.808 seconds. Consolation winners: B. Faircloth, Hollingsworth, Knowles.

Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728