Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 340
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 05/26/2024 01:41:44

Sponsor 743
May 23
Volunteer Speedway,
Bulls Gap, TN
Sanction: Carolina Clash Super Late Model Series (Border Wars) - $4,000
Information provided by: Richard Allen (last updated May 24, 8:36 am)
Hill steers new Longhorn to first Clash victory
Border Wars
  1. Vic Hill
  2. Cory Hedgecock
  3. Pierce McCarter
  4. Chad Ogle
  5. Mark Vineyard
  6. Ben Watkins
  7. Mark Douglas
  8. Roger Best
  9. Dusty Carver
  10. Forrest Trent
  11. John Tweed
  12. Doug Sanders
  13. Bobby Mays
  14. Travis Greer
  15. Jensen Ford
  16. Ellery Leake
  17. Jeff Wolfenbarger
  18. Steve Smith
  19. Brian Strickland
  20. Kevin Wilson
  21. Phil Helton
  22. Dale Ball
  23. Hunter Best
presented by
Chad Wells/wellsracingphotography.com
Vic Hill steered a new Longhorn Chassis to victory at Volunteer.
What won the race: Debuting a new Longhorn Chassis, former track champion Vic Hill of Mosheim, Tenn., overtook Carolina Clash points leader Ben Watkins on the sixth lap and led the rest of the way at Volunteer Speedway for his first series victory. Hill earned $4,000 in beating Cory Hedgecock and Pierce McCarter to the checkers. Watkins finished sixth.
Key notes: The feature lineup was set straight from time trials. ... Cautions appeared for Dale Ball's spin (lap 16), Phil Helton (lap 28), Kevin Wilson (lap 36) and Steve Smith (lap 38). ... Doug Sanders climbed into the Anthony Sanders car after having engine problems in hot laps; Anthony Sanders and Scott Shirey scratched for the night. ... The Carolina Clash made its third trip of the season to Bulls Gap; Chad Ogle and Ray Cook won the previous visits.
On the move: Mark Vineyard of Knoxville, Tenn., started 10th and finished fifth.
Winner's sponsors: Hill's Longhorn Chassis has a Vic Hill Racing Engine and sponsorship from Landair Transport, Orthapaedic Institute of Western Kentucky, Pilot Travel Centers, American Racing Tire, Preferred Sandblasting & Patining and Fastlane.
Points chase: Through Volunteer, Watkins has 667 points to lead Doug Sanders (587) and Kevin Wilson (534).
Car count: 25
Fast qualifier: Ben Watkins
Time: 12.470 seconds
Polesitter: Ben Watkins
Next series race: May 30, Lancaster Speedway (Lancaster, SC) $4,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Watkins, Hill
Row 2: P. McCarter, C. Ogle
Row 3: Hedgecock, Douglas
Row 4: R. Best, S. Smith
Row 5: Carver, Vineyard
Row 6: J. Wolfenbarger, Mays
Row 7: Tweed, Ford
Row 8: Trent, Leake
Row 9: H. Best, D. Sanders
Row 10: Ball, Greer
Row 11: Strickland, Helton
Row 12: Wilson, Shirey
Sponsor 1192
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information