Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1264
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 04/13/2024 23:56:05

Sponsor 743
April 18
Eldora Speedway,
Rossburg, OH
Sanction: Sunoco American Late Model Series - $5,000
Information provided by: Track reports (last updated April 21, 11:49 am)
Schlenk collects $5,000 in Eldora season opener
  1. Rusty Schlenk
  2. Devin Gilpin
  3. Scott James
  4. Matt Westfall
  5. Brian Ruhlman
  6. Jeep Van Wormer
  7. Josh Rice
  8. James Rice
  9. Duane Chamberlain
  10. Brandon Thirlby
  11. Ryan VanderVeen
  12. Jerry Bowersock
  13. Andrew Reaume
  14. Phil Ausra
  15. Rich Neiser
  16. Matt Miller
  17. J.R. Hotovy
  18. Dustin Nobbe
  19. Kent Robinson
  20. Ben Mott
  21. Dusty Moore
  22. Steve Casebolt
presented by
Mike Campbell/campbellphoto.com
Rusty Schlenk takes the checkers in Eldora's first 2015 ALMS event.
What won the race: Rusty Schlenk of Weston, Ohio, took the lead from Brian Ruhlman of Clarklake, Mich., just before a caution on the 14th lap and drove off over the final 11 circuits to collect $5,000 and his 19th career victory on the Sunoco American Late Model Series.
Key notes: Devin Gilpin of Columbus, Ind., led the first three laps before Ruhlman drove past and kept the point for 10 laps. ... The feature was slowed by cautions on the laps 6 and 14. ... Steve Casebolt of Richmond, Ind., ruled Friday's ALMS action at Attica (Ohio) Raceway Park; he crossed the line fifth Saturday at Eldora but was later disqualified for weighing in six pounds light at the scales. ... Josh Rice of Verona, Ky., started 11th and ran as high as third before folding under his nosepiece; he held on to finish seventh, one spot better than his brother James. ... Eldora opened its 62nd season with its first race since the death of founder Earl Baltes. ... ALMS competitors made the first of five visits to the historic half-mile oval. The tour's next stop at The Big E is slated for May 24.
On the move: Ryan VanderVeen of Six Lakes, Mich., started 21st and finished 11th.
Winner's sponsors: Schlenk's Mike Lawrence-owned Rocket Chassis has a Dargie Race Engine and is sponsored by Classic Carriers, Dickman, Josh Brooks State Farm, McBo's Lanes, Pothast Loxley Insulation and Tiger Sports Gear.
Points chase: Bobby Pierce of Oakwood, Ill., entered the weekend as the ALMS points leader, but did not compete in series action.
Car count: 30
Fast qualifier: Steve Casebolt
Time: 15.703 seconds
Heat race winners: Jeep Van Wormer, Matt Westfall, Devin Gilpin, Duane Chamberlain
Consolation race winners: J.R. Hotovy
Editor's note: Updates with Casebolt's disqualification.
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information