Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1191
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 06/13/2024 20:49:56

Sponsor 743
April 28
Port Royal Speedway,
Port Royal, PA
Sanction: Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series (Battle in the Borough) - $10,000
Information provided by: Kyle McFadden, series and track reports (last updated April 29, 2:49 pm)
Port Royal win gives RTJ Mid-Atlantic perfection
Battle in the Borough
  1. Ricky Thornton Jr.
  2. Mike Marlar
  3. Garrett Alberson
  4. Jonathan Davenport
  5. Devin Moran
  6. Max Blair
  7. Mason Zeigler
  8. Jimmy Owens
  9. Tyler Erb
  10. Carson Ferguson
  11. Rick Eckert
  12. Tim McCreadie
  13. Drake Troutman
  14. Nick Hoffman
  15. Ross Robinson
  16. Daulton Wilson
  17. Brandon Sheppard
  18. Boom Briggs
  19. Hudson O'Neal
  20. Gregg Satterlee
  21. Justin Weaver
  22. Bryan Bernheisel
  23. Brenden Smith
  24. Clay Harris
  25. Max McLaughlin
  26. Cory Lawler
presented by
Heath Lawson/heathlawsonphotos.com
Ricky Thornton Jr. celebrates his fifth Lucas Oil Series victory of the season.
What won the race: Repelling a mid-race challenge from Mike Marlar and surviving a late-race restart, polesitter Ricky Thornton Jr. of Chandler, Ariz., led 40 laps Sunday to capture the $10,000 Battle in the Borough at Port Royal Speedway. Thornton notched his fifth Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series victory of the season and the 28th of his career.
Quotable: “I felt like our stuff was really good there. I was trying to play it a little safe there in (turns) one and two and I think that let Mikey (Marlar) get that much closer to me,” Thornton said. “He drove by me and luckily the yellow came out, otherwise I think he probably would’ve won. I gotta thank whoever caused that yellow and put me back out front."
Key notes: Thornton was perfect over the Mid-Atlantic weekend — shortened from three events after Saturday's middle stop at Hagerstown (Md.) Speedway was rained out — winning his heat race and leading the entire distance from the pole in both races. In total, Thornton led 89 consecutive main event laps and collected nearly $30,000. ... The second-starting Marlar pressured Thornton throughout the 40-lapper and appeared to nose ahead just before Cory Lawler slowed to draw the race's second caution on lap 17. Marlar ultimately settled for runner-up, 1.538 seconds back. ... Garrett Alberson grabbed third on a lap-18 restart and rounded-out the podium for the second straight consecutive race. ... Jonathan Davenport and Devin Moran each improved eight positions, finishing fourth and fifth. ... Sixth-place finisher Max Blair ran as high as fourth before slipping on a lap-35 restart. ... Carson Ferguson gained eight spots to finish 10th. ... Brandon Sheppard slowed to bring out the first yellow on lap 16; he ended up 17th. ... Gregg Satterlee drew the race's third and final caution when he slowed from 17th with a flat left-rear on lap 34. ... Sunday's feature lasted 24 minutes, with 21 competitors completing 40 laps and 24 running at the checkers.
On the move: Rick Eckert of York, Pa., started 26th and finished 11th.
Winner's sponsors: Thornton’s SSI Motorsports Longhorn Chassis is powered by a Clements Racing Engine and carries sponsorship from Dyno One, Hoker Trucking LLC, Coltman Farms Racing, Sub-Surface of Indiana, Big River Steel, Murty Farms, High Performance Lubricants, West Side Tractor Sales, Bilstein, Sunoco Race Fuels, FK Rod Ends, Allstar Performance, Dirt Car Lift, Midwest Sheet Metal and EMD Wraps.
Points chase: After Port Royal: 1. Ricky Thornton Jr. (2,295); 2. Jonathan Davenport (2,200); 3. Devin Moran (2,165); 4. Mike Marlar (2,035); 5. Hudson O’Neal (2,015); 6. Daulton Wilson (1,955); 7. Jimmy Owens (1,945); 8. Garrett Alberson (1,915); 9. Tim McCreadie (1,910); 10. Brandon Sheppard (1,900); 11. Tyler Erb (1,830); 12. Max Blair (1,635).
Current weather: Scattered Clouds, 75°F
Car count: 47
Fast qualifier: Ricky Thornton Jr.
Time: 18.054 seconds
Polesitter: Ricky Thornton Jr.
Heat race winners: Ricky Thornton Jr., Jimmy Owens, Mike Marlar, Garrett Alberson
Consolation race winners: Bryan Bernheisel, Carson Ferguson
Provisional starters: Boom Briggs, Brenden Smith, Cory Lawler, Rick Eckert
Next series race: May 3, Ponderosa Speedway (Junction City, KY) $12,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Thornton, Marlar
Row 2: Owens, Alberson
Row 3: Wilson, O'Neal
Row 4: Blair, Zeigler
Row 5: McCreadie, Sheppard
Row 6: T. Erb, Davenport
Row 7: Moran, Hoffman
Row 8: Robinson, Troutman
Row 9: Bernheisel, Ca. Ferguson
Row 10: Weaver, Satterlee
Row 11: Harris, McLaughlin
Row 12: Briggs, Smith
Row 13: Lawler, Eckert

Sponsor 682
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information