Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 258
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 05/30/2024 11:28:23

Sponsor 743
September 23
Boyd's Speedway,
Ringgold, GA
Sanction: World of Outlaws Case Late Model Series (Stateline Showdown) - $10,000
Information provided by: Robert Holman and series reports (last updated September 24, 9:12 am)
Owens repels Blair, wins WoO's debut at Boyd's
Stateline Showdown
  1. Jimmy Owens
  2. Max Blair
  3. Dale McDowell
  4. Tanner English
  5. Chris Madden
  6. Jensen Ford
  7. Kyle Bronson
  8. Michael Page
  9. Josh Richards
  10. Dennis Erb Jr.
  11. Payton Freeman
  12. Cory Hedgecock
  13. Boom Briggs
  14. Shane Clanton
  15. Gordy Gundaker
  16. Sam Seawright
  17. Ryan Gustin
  18. Brent Larson
  19. Will Roland
  20. Tyler Millwood
  21. Carson Ferguson
  22. Cameron Weaver
  23. Cla Knight
  24. Eli Beets
presented by
Jacy Norgaard/jacynorgaardphotography.com
Jimmy Owens celebrates his $10,000 victory at Boyd's.
What won the race: Winning his second straight World of Outlaws Case Late Model Series event, pole-starting Jimmy Owens of Newport, Tenn., dominated Friday's tour debut at Boyd's Speedway for a $10,000 Stateline Showdown victory. Owens, who won Sept. 2 at Smoky Mountain Speedway in Maryville, Tenn., turned back inside challenges from fifth-starting Max Blair and pulled away after the final restart to win the 40-lapper by 1.569 seconds.
Quotable: "I got a little close to (the slower car of Tyler Millwood) there," Owens said. "I was getting kind of closer than what I thought, and I climbed up on his rear. I thought 'Daggonneit, you got to slow down and calm down a little bit.' But you know, we got a lot of good cars behind us chasing us all night. We was able to hold 'em off."
Key notes: Owens, who had some tense moments amid traffic in trying to maintain the inside groove over Blair from laps 20-34, notched his 21st career WoO victory (he's never been a full-time series driver). ... Owens also won back-to-back WoO races in 2020 (at Volusia Speedway Park in Barberville, Fla.) and 2012 (at The Dirt Track at Charlotte in Concord, N.C.). ... Two cautions slowed the 40-lapper, both on the 35th lap. Tyler Millwood's flat left-rear tire brought out the first yellow and fast qualifier Ryan Gustin spun on the ensuing restart. ... Owens ran unchallenged on the final restart. ... Tanner English finished fourth to gain more ground in the title chase in Dennis Erb Jr., who advanced seven positions but managed just a 10th-place finish. ... WoO competitors remain at Boyd's for Saturday’s 50-lap finale that pays $20,000-to-win at the track near Chattanooga, Tenn., that sits on the Tennessee-Georgia border.
On the move: WoO points leader Dennis Erb Jr. of Carpentersville, Ill., started 17th and finished 10th.
Winner's sponsors: Owens drives a Ramirez Motorsports Rocket Chassis powered by a Vic Hill Racing Engine and sponsored by Reece Monument, Boomtest Well Service, Tim Short Auto Group, Red Line Oil, Georgia Arms, Midwest Sheet Metal and Ohlins Shocks.
Points chase: After Boyd's Friday: 1. Dennis Erb Jr. (4,868); 2. Tanner English (4,776); 3. Max Blair (4,704): 4. Ryan Gustin (4,496): 5. Brent Larson (4,378); 6. Josh Richards (4,310); 7. Gordy Gundaker (4,254); 8. Boom Briggs (4,152); 9. Shane Clanton (3,470); 10. Tyler Bruening (2,902).
Current weather: Clear, 64°F
Car count: 41
Fast qualifier: Ryan Gustin
Time: 13.885 seconds
Polesitter: Jimmy Owens
Heat race winners: Tanner English, Dale McDowell, Jimmy Owens, Josh Richards
Consolation race winners: Dennis Erb Jr., Eli Beets
Provisional starters: Shane Clanton, Brent Larson
Next series race: September 24, Boyd's Speedway (Ringgold, GA) $20,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Owens, McDowell
Row 2: Richards, English
Row 3: Blair, Gustin
Row 4: Ford, Freeman
Row 5: Madden, Millwood
Row 6: Bronson, Briggs
Row 7: Page, Knight
Row 8: Gundaker, Hedgecock
Row 9: Erb, Beets
Row 10: Seawright, Roland
Row 11: Ferguson, Weaver
Row 12: Clanton, Larson
Sponsor 1269
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information