Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 923
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 08/15/2022 14:18:34

Sponsor 743
March 25
Cherokee Speedway,
Gaffney, SC
Sanction: World of Outlaws Case Late Model Series (Rock Gault Memorial) - $10,000
Information provided by: Series reports (last updated March 27, 7:48 am)
Brown rules Cherokee, gets WoO breakthrough
Rock Gault Memorial
  1. Michael Brown
  2. Ryan Gustin
  3. Max Blair
  4. Dennis Erb Jr.
  5. Daulton Wilson
  6. Brandon Sheppard
  7. Trent Ivey
  8. Tanner English
  9. Josh Richards
  10. Bryson Harper
  11. Spencer Hughes
  12. Boom Briggs
  13. Brent Larson
  14. Hudson O'Neal
  15. Kyle Hammer
  16. Anthony Sanders
  17. Brent Dixon
  18. Tyler Bruening
  19. Gordy Gundaker
  20. Ethan Wilson
  21. Ross Bailes
  22. Ben Watkins
  23. Cla Knight
  24. Zack Mitchell
  25. Pearson Lee Williams
  26. Carson Ferguson
presented by
Jacy Norgaard/jacynorgaardphotography.com
Michael Brown celebrates atop his McLeod Racing entry at Cherokee.
What won the race: Winning a late-race battle over Ryan Gustin, third-starting Michael Brown of Lancaster, S.C., claimed his first career World of Outlaws Case Late Model Series victory in Friday's Rock Gault Memorial opener at Cherokee Speedway. He finished 0.696 seconds ahead of Gustin.
Quotable: "It's badass, badass," Brown said. "You know, I've always dreamed of doing this. It's a surreal moment. It's awesome and I'm damn sure gonna enjoy it."
Key notes: Brown, who recently became a father after the birth of his son Mason, fended off Gustin in the waning laps as the duo battled lapped traffic. … Ross Bailes of Clover, S.C., who is gunning for the Drydene Xtreme DIRTcar Series championship, finished 21st after battling right-front fender damage late in the race that forced him to the pit area. … Current point leader Ben Watkins of Lancaster, S.C., finished 22nd. … The second annual Rock Gault Memorial weekend concludes on Saturday with a $20,000-to-win finale. … John Ruggiero Jr. of Lincolnton, N.C., pocketed $1,500 for winning the Mid-East 602 Crate Late Model Series feature.
On the move: Josh Richards of Shinnston, W.V., started 18th and finished ninth.
Winner's sponsors: Brown’s Rocket Chassis is powered by a Clements Racing Engine and sponsored by Black Crest Farms, Crescent Moon Forestry Services, JR’s Bar, Mike’s Transmission, Live Oak Aesthetic and Family Dentistry, Piggly Wiggly, Mac’s Place Spirits, Hoosier Race Tires, McLeod Racing and S&S Graphix.
Points chase: After Cherokee Friday: 1. Dennis Erb Jr. (958); 2. Brandon Sheppard (940); 3. Max Blair (908); 4. Tyler Bruening (896); 5. Tanner English (888); 6. Hudson O’Neal (858); 7. Chris Madden (854); 8. Dale McDowell (838); 9. Josh Richards (832); 10. Brent Larson (810).
Current weather: Clear, 50°F
Car count: 40
Fast qualifier: Brandon Sheppard
Time: 14.877 seconds
Polesitter: Max Blair
Heat race winners: Brandon Sheppard, Michael Brown, Max Blair, Ryan Gustin
Consolation race winners: Boom Briggs, Josh Richards
Next series race: April 1, Farmer City Raceway (Farmer City, IL) $0
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Blair, Gustin
Row 2: Brown, Sheppard
Row 3: Mitchell, Erb Jr.
Row 4: Bruening, Wilson
Row 5: Ivey, Bailes
Row 6: English, Watkins
Row 7: Williams, Harper
Row 8: Hughes, Dixon
Row 9: Briggs, Richards
Row 10: Hammer, Knight
Row 11: O’Neal, Gundaker
Row 12: Larson, Ferguson
Row 13: Sanders, Wilson
Sponsor 1044
Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728