Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1198
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 08/13/2022 07:36:36

Sponsor 743
August 31
I-77 Speedway,
Ripley, WV
Sanction: Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series (Hillbilly 100) - $25,000
Information provided by: Alli Collis and series reports (last updated September 1, 3:00 pm)
O'Neal collects $25,000 for Hillbilly 100 victory
Hillbilly 100
  1. Don O'Neal
  2. Jimmy Owens
  3. Steve Francis
  4. Dennis Erb Jr.
  5. Jonathan Davenport
  6. Devin Moran
  7. Tim Dohm
  8. Eddie Carrier Jr.
  9. Corey Conley
  10. John Blankenship
  11. Jeremy Berwanger
  12. Zack Dohm
  13. Jared Hawkins
  14. Jared Landers
  15. Jason Hughes
  16. Kenney Newhouse
  17. Harold Redman Jr.
  18. Earl Pearson Jr.
  19. Davey Johnson
  20. Jason Papich
  21. Scott Bloomquist
  22. Mike Marlar
  23. Mason Zeigler
  24. Chris Garnes
  25. Steve Shaver
  26. Freddie Carpenter
  27. Jackie Boggs
presented by
Rick Schwallie/rickschwalliephotos.com
Don O'Neal (5) held off Jimmy Owens (20) at the Hillbilly 100.
What won the race: Outside front-row starter Don O'Neal of Martinsville, Ind., regained the lead from Clint Bowyer Racing teammate Steve Francis on the 19th lap and led the rest of I-77 Raceway Park's Hillbilly 100. O'Neal beat Jimmy Owens to the line by less than a half-second for a $25,000 payday.
Key notes: O'Neal earned his 40th career Lucas Oil Series victory and seventh of the season. ... I-77 Raceway Park hosted the prestigious 46th annual Carl Short-promoted race for the third consecutive year.
On the move: Dennis Erb Jr. came from 12th to fourth; Jonathan Davenport came from 14th to fifth.
Winner's sponsors: O'Neal's Clint Bowyer Racing Barry Wright Race Cars house car has Clements power and carries sponsorship from Cometic Gasket, Crawford Supply, Georgia Boot, Ohlins Shocks, Peak Motor Oil, Sunoco Race Fuels and Traeger Grills.
Points chase: Don O'Neal trimmed his 45-point deficit to three-time and reigning champ Jimmy Owens to 25 points.
Car count: 42
Fast qualifier: Eddie Carrier Jr.
Time: 13.044 seconds
Polesitter: Mason Zeigler
Heat race winners: Mason Zeigler, Earl Pearson Jr., Don O'Neal, Scott Bloomquist
Consolation race winners: Jared Landers, John Blankenship
Provisional starters: Jason Papich, Steve Shaver, Chris Garnes, Harold Redman Jr.
Next series race: September 19, Brownstown Speedway (Brownstown, IN) $20,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.
By Alli Collis
DirtonDirt.com staff writer

RIPLEY, W.Va. (Aug. 31) — Don O’Neal added another long-running special event victory to his resume Sunday at I-77 Raceway Park — along with $25,000.

The Martinsville, Ind., driver outran current Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series points leader Jimmy Owens of Newport, Tenn., in Sunday’s Hillbilly 100 to collect the tour’s richest single-day payday of the season.

After grabbing a heat-race victory, O’Neal started outside the front row in the 100-lapper, taking the lead from polesitter Mason Zeigler of Chalk Hill, Pa., on the ninth lap. Clint Bowyer Racing teammate Steve Francis of Ashland, Ky., charged from the sixth starting spot to the front of the field on lap 15, but O’Neal regained the point a few laps later, leading the remainder of the 100-lapper for his seventh Lucas Oil Series victory of the season.

“To win the heat race and get started up front, that meant a lot here, because it was tough to pass,” O’Neal said. “It was hard out there in the middle of the racetrack to get around somebody. To get this Peak Motor Oil, Crawford Supply, Georgia Boot car in victory lane is pretty awesome. My first Hillbilly. … It’s awesome.”

After falling back early, seventh-starting Owens advanced to take home runner-up honors, while Francis rallied from the tail of the field to finish third after drawing a lap-42 caution when he spun in turns one and two. Dennis Erb Jr. of Carpenter, Ill., finished fourth, with Jonathan Davenport of Blairsville, Ga., rounding out the top five.

While O’Neal went unchallenged for much of the race, a close battle for the remaining top five spots waged on throughout the caution-plagued event. Scott Bloomquist of Mooresburg, Tenn., and Mike Marlar of Winfield, Tenn., each made it up to the second-place spot, but neither finished the race.

Bloomquist fell off the pace on lap 75, retiring to the pits, and returning to the tail of the field several laps later. A red flag waved for Marlar, two-time Hillbilly 100 winner, on lap 82 when his No. 157 machine made contact with the turn-three guardrail, barrel-rolling and landing upside down. He was uninjured.

Late-race cautions set up a showdown between O’Neal and Owens, now separated by 25 points in the Lucas Oil championship standings. Owens slipped by O’Neal with seven laps remaining, but wasn’t able to hold on to the lead. He finished just a half a second behind the race leader at the checkers.

“I guess we were runner-up tonight,” Owens said. “We had a good car. On the restarts there we kept getting shuffled back. I couldn’t go very good on the bottom. I had the momentum around the corners and every time they’d have a restart I’d get stuck on the bottom and kept falling farther and farther back. We just took care of our tires and everything and started working our way back up toward the front there.

“Those cautions kept killing me. I was confident I was going to get him, but they kept having caution, after caution and then we’d have to play catch up every time. And then there toward the end there were a couple times I thought I could have slid up in front of him, but we got to finish and you don’t want to get into all of that. Sometimes second is better than taking chances.”

Sixth-starting Francis led a few early laps and was running fourth when he spun for a caution on the 42nd lap. He worked his way back through the field, returning to the top five late in the race.

“Driver probably cost us the race there,” Francis said. “Don had a real good car, Jimmy had a real good car … we had to use so much stuff up coming from the back. But that’s three seconds and a third in the last four races. We can’t argue with that. We’re making progress. I just made a driver error there and probably cost us the race.”

The race was slowed by a total of 13 cautions along with the red flag cleanup for Marlar’s accident.

The Lucas Oil Series returns to action Sept. 19-20 for Brownstown Speedway’s Jackson 100 with O’Neal running at his home track.

“It’s up and down,” O’Neal said of the Lucas Oil points chase. “It’s just tough. But our next race is at home for me … it’ll be Brownstown, the points race. I’m looking forward to that and hopefully we can come out of there and maybe have the points lead.”

Lucas Oil points

(Through Aug. 31)
1. Jimmy Owens - 6,720
2. Don O'Neal - 6,695
3. Scott Bloomquist - 6,395
4. Steve Francis - 6,060
5. Eddie Carrier Jr. - 5,855
6. Earl Pearson Jr. - 5,775
7. John Blankenship - 5,565
8. Jared Landers - 5,475
9. Dennis Erb Jr. - 5,160
10. Jason Hughes - 4,665
Sponsor 1044
Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728