Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1264
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 05/25/2024 00:50:56

Sponsor 743
September 10
River Cities Speedway,
Grand Forks, ND
Sanction: Northern LateModel Racing Association (Prelude to the Johnny) - $1,492
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated September 11, 2:10 pm)
Lance Schill captures Prelude to the Johnny
Prelude to the Johnny
  1. Lance Schill
  2. Aaron Turnbull
  3. Dustin Strand
  4. Jeffrey Massingill
  5. A.J. Diemel
  6. Joey Pederson
  7. Chad Mahder
  8. Donny Schatz
  9. Brad Seng
  10. Shawn Meyer
  11. Morgan Ward
  12. Chad Becker
  13. Jordan Tollakson
  14. Don Shaw
  15. Cole Schill
  16. Ryan Mikkelson
  17. Steffen Snare
  18. Steve Anderson
  19. Brody Troftgruben
  20. Bryce Sward
  21. Billy Vogel
  22. Casey Meyer
  23. Kevin Robertson
  24. Dustin Bluhm
  25. Blake Anderson
  26. Tom Corcoran
  27. Jeff Hapala
presented by
Mike Spieker/speedway-shots.com
Lance Schill gets rolling in prelims at River Cities Speedway.
What won the race: Outside front-row starter Lance Schill of Langdon, N.D., earned his biggest career victory Thursday at River Cities Speedway, pocketing $1,492 in the 10th annual Prelude to the Johnny, the NLRA finale. Schill survived a mid-race challenge from Joey Pederson — whose outside pass on the 16th lap was erased when a caution appeared — for his first touring Late Model victory.
Quotable: "Getting into lapped traffic, and we knew there was a little strip (of traction) on the bottom, and I didn't want to move up, and I knew Joey was right behind us," Schill said. "And I know he loves the bottom and he's dang good on the bottom. ... I was pretty content. I didn't want to start moving lapped cars."
Key notes: Schill, a Midwest modified standout, returned to Late Models in 2020 after several years out of the division. ... He won at River Cities in regular-season action on June 19. ... Joey Pederson slipped back to finish sixth. ... Polesitter Steffen Snare was never a factor in finishing 17th. .... Fourth-starting Cole Schill spun inside turn two for a lap-three yellow. ... Tom Corcoran and Kevin Robertson tangled on the first attempted start. ... Robertson also spun on the sixth lap. ... Blake Anderson spun in turn two on the 17th lap. ... NLRA's 10th annual event leads into the non-touring John Seitz Memorial weekend at River Cities. ... Schill earned a victory in Saturday's past champion's race and a Johnny.
On the move: A.J. Diemel of Elk Mound, Wis., started 22nd and finished fifth.
Winner's sponsors: Schill's MB Customs Race Car is sponsored by D&B Motors, Forest Flying Service, TotalAg Solutions, Dan's Truck and Car Wash, Schill Construction, Agi Westeel, Concept Industries and Sukup Mfg.
Points chase: Dustin Strand of Grand Forks, N.D., wrapped up his fourth career NLRA championship.
Current weather: Clear, 54°F
Car count: 50
Polesitter: Steffen Snare
Heat race winners: Cole Schill, Joey Pederson, Shawn Meyer, Lance Schill, Steffen Snare, Bryce Sward
Consolation race winners: Dustin Bluhm, Brad Seng
Provisional starters: Brody Troftgruben, Blake  Anderson, Jeff Hapala, Steve Anderson, Casey Meyer
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Snare, L. Schill
Row 2: Pederson, C. Schill
Row 3: S. Meyer, Mahder
Row 4: Strand, Turnbull
Row 5: Corcoran, Sward
Row 6: Vogel, Schatz
Row 7: Massingill, M. Ward
Row 8: Robertson, Mikkelson
Row 9: Tollakson, Shaw
Row 10: Bluhm, Seng
Row 11: Becker, Diemel
Row 12: Troftgruben, B. Anderson
Row 13: Hapala, S. Anderson
Row 14: C. Meyer

Sponsor 1269
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information